Preservation: Copyright
This LibGuide offers resources to guide libraries in the provision of long-term access to the physical and intellectual contents of their collections through conservation, preservation, and digitization.
Preservation Copying
When can the library make a digital copy of an item? This is an extremely complicated question to answer. Whether you want to copy a single VHS to DVD, or scan an entire collection of unpublished diaries, this is a question librarians frequently must answer.
- Library Digitization Projects and CopyrightWhen can you digitize your library’s special collection? This 6-part article by Mary Minnow delves into the complexity of that answer.
- Copyright and Preservation (a CLIR Report)Explores copyright implications of large-scale preservation and access programs arising from unprecedented massive reformatting of deteriorating acidic-paper materials. Provides comprehensive review of copyright law and subsequent judicial interpretations, as well as proposed alternative means to protect intellectual rights while simultaneously expanding access to preserved materials.
- Is VHS an Obsolete Format Under Section 108?Libraries routinely rely on Section 108, the limitations on exclusive rights specifically for libraries and archives in US Copyright Law. Included in Section 108 are provisions for libraries and archives to make replacement copies of published works in their collections if the work is ‘damaged, deteriorating, lost or stolen, or if the existing format in which the work is stored has become obsolete’. What is obsolete?
- Section 108 Due Diligence ProjectA library cannot simply begin digitizing all of their VHS tapes though. Section 108 requires that, prior to duplication, a reasonable search be conducted to determine that an unused copy of the title is not available at a fair price, and evidence of that search should be kept. This database captures the search efforts for current distribution of VHS video titles eligible for duplication under Section 108 of U.S. Copyright law.