Preservation: Special Topics

An overview of bindings that may be found in libraries, written by Werner Rebsamen, Professor Emeritus at Rochester Institute of Technology.

Because books differ in value and in the way they are used, it is important to select an appropriate type of rebinding when they become damaged. Library binding, one type of rebinding, is probably chosen for more books than any other type. Library binding is a good choice where economy and durability are the objectives. It is appropriate for books that are significant primarily for the information they contain and that do not have value as objects.

(2010) Binding is the first line of defense in library preservation and can be a major part of a library's preservation budget. Developed jointly by NISO and the Library Binding Institute, this ANSI/NISO/LBI standard describes the technical specifications and materials to use for first-time hardcover binding of serials and paperbound books intended for the rigors of library use. It also covers rebinding of hardcover books and serials. Following this standard will give you volumes that are sturdy, durable and flexible.

A slideshow presentation by Paul Parisi.

Prepared by Shannon Zachary, Head of Conservation Services University Library, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor; From “To Bind or Not to Bind," 2001 ALA Annual Conference, June 16, 2001, San Francisco

In 2003, Columbia University Libraries (CUL) received funds from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to carry out a one-year survey of unprocessed and under-processed archival collections. Using the model developed by the Historical Society of Pennsylvania (HSP), which includes extensive explanations of the access, condition, and value ratings, an effective workflow was planned in accordance with the design of the survey instrument, a Microsoft Access database.

In 2005, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation generously provided support to the Columbia University Libraries to develop and test a survey instrument to inventory and assess the physical condition and intellectual control of audio and moving image materials. The survey instrument and instruction manual are available for free download.

NYU ViPIRS is the Microsoft Access database tool designed to assist in the survey and preservation planning of audiovisual collections as part of Developing Principles and Methodologies for Moving Image and Audio Preservation in Research Libraries. ViPIRS is designed with a wide range of users in mind: from audiovisual novices to experts; from small institutions to large. ViPIRS has been developed for magnetic media, which includes modules for videotape, audiocassettes, and 1/4" reel-to-reel.

AMIA was established to advance the field of moving image archiving by fostering cooperation among individuals and organizations concerned with the acquisition, description, preservation, exhibition and use of moving image materials.

Online tutorial developed for curators, librarians, archivists, collections managers and other staff who are involved in managing machine-based media collections in cultural institutions. Viewers will learn basic principles and concepts for managing audiovisual collections and will be provided with information and strategies for preservation, contracting for reformatting, and finding funding opportunities.

The Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio-Visual Conservation in Culpeper, VA houses sound recordings, films, and video reside in temperature-controlled vaults. The audiovisual conservation part of the Library of Congress has under its purview all recorded audio, film, video, and associated printed material (like movie scripts) donated to and collected by the library.

Working in collaboration with its academic partners and technical advisors, New York University's Division of Libraries is pleased to announce the release of a publication. Digitizing Video for Long-term Preservation: An RFP Guide and Template is intended to take an institution step-by-step through the process of drafting a Request for Proposals (RFP) for the transfer of analog video -- specifically VHS -- to digital carriers for preservation. This template can be used by libraries, archives, and other cultural heritage institutions and submitted to qualified transfer vendors.

List of books and articles about how to and the issues surrounding the preservation of film and audio items.

(2013) Addresses trends in bibliographic control, storage environments, current vendors and resources and microform terminology.

These Guidelines for Microfilming Public Records outline the standards that will ensure your information will be secure and available in the future. They also offer recommendations about specifications that will facilitate the migration of microfilm to a digital format. These guidelines must be followed to ensure that archivally sound microfilm is created.

Explanation of why this publication should only be used with extreme caution.

Handout from the Guild of Book Workers Standards Seminar in 2013.