Skip to main content

Recommended Reading: Andrew Carnegie Medals for Fiction & Nonfiction

A collection of ALA's literature award winners and various notable reading lists.

image of the Andrew Carnegie medal seal for fictionEstablished in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year. The winners (one for fiction, one for nonfiction) are announced at an event at the ALA Midwinter Meeting; 

Carnegie Medal Winner - Fiction

Carnegie Medal Winner - Nonfiction

Carnegie Medal Finalists - Fiction

cover of moonglow cover of zadie smith 

Carnegie Medal Finalists - Nonfiction

cover of blood at the root cover of the firebrand and the first lady