Safety and Security in Libraries: Home
Safety in public spaces, including libraries, has always been a concern, but may be more keenly felt in light of certain recent events. A productive and effective library is one in which its staff and patrons feel secure.
"Today, more than ever, security in your library is every staff member’s responsibility. Even in libraries with a security force, officers can only be in one place at a time—it is everyone’s responsibility to ensure a safe environment for the public, the staff and the collections." - ALA/LLAMA Library Security Guidelines, 2010
This resource guide contains multiple resources - and reference to other ALA LibGuides - for creating safety and security policies for libraries of all types and sizes.
ALA Online Learning
-
12 Essentials for a Safe and Secure LibraryALA Editions offered a workshop with Warren Graham on June 6, 2012 that lasted 90 minutes.
-
Applying Trauma-Informed Concepts to Reduce Harm: A PLA Social Worker Task Force WebinarIn this latest installment in the series, members of the PLA Social Worker Task Force continue to explore trauma-informed services at the library. Previous webinars in the series looked at what a trauma-informed approach is and why it is important; this on-demand webinar focuses on how to implement a trauma-informed approach. However, each webinar is designed to stand alone, so attendance at the previous webinars in the series is not a prerequisite. Originally presented December 18, 2019.
-
How to respond to a security incident in your libraryOn June 12, 2014, ALA Editions offered a workshop with Dr. Steve Albrecht, which lasted 90 minutes.
-
Library Safety & Security DiscussionPresented by American Libraries Live on March 20, 2013.
-
Library SecurityPresented by American Libraries Live on May 8, 2014.
-
Understanding Trauma-Informed Approaches in Public LibrariesIn this on-demand webinar presenters clarify the concept of trauma-informed approaches; detail what this looks like in a public library environment; and preview how understanding and beginning to implement this approach can aid your community and your library. Originally presented September 24, 2019.
-
Why Trauma-Informed: A PLA Social Worker Task Force WebinarIn this on-demand webinar, the presenters—all working library social workers—show how following a trauma-informed approach can relieve the pressure that results from managing difficult situations, explore methods for offering choices to patrons, and for creating an environment of collaboration and trust at the library. Originally presented November 18, 2019.
Related LibGuides
- Gun Violence and LibrariesResources for libraries on addressing policies, education, and training on gun violence.
- Library Disaster Preparedness & ResponsePutting a plan in place before a disaster strikes, and what to do when disaster does strike.
- Library Policy DevelopmentWhen developing policies, each library needs to consider the community that it serves.
- Academic Library Building Design: Resources for Planning: Safety and SecurityACRL and LLAMA have joined forces to provide a basic framework for architects, planners, and librarians embarking on the planning and design of libraries for higher education.
Guidelines for Library Security
-
ACRL/RBMS Guidelines Regarding Security and Theft in Special CollectionsThese guidelines identify important issues that collection administrators should address in developing adequate security measures and a strategy for responding to thefts. While directed primarily toward special collections in the U.S., many topics are also applicable to general collections and to special collections in other countries.
-
ALA Guidelines for the Development of Policies and Procedures Regarding User Behavior and Library UsageLibraries are faced with problems of user behavior that must be addressed to ensure the effective delivery of service and full access to facilities. Library governing bodies should approach the regulation of user behavior within the framework of the ALA Code of Ethics, the Library Bill of Rights and the law, including local and state statutes, constitutional standards under the First and Fourteenth Amendments, due process and equal and equitable treatment under the law.
-
Library Security - Libris DESIGNLibris DESIGN was a library facility planning information system and downloadable database that was developed for California Public Library planners in 2005. Most helpful for library building purposes was the Libris Design Planning Documentation (via Archive.org), retrieved here via the Internet Archive, which was a set of reports, as DOC and PDF files, covering various interior and exterior library building topics and issues.
-
Library Security GuidelinesWhile these “Guidelines” incorporate or recommend industry standards and note best practices, the document does not attempt to establish standards and in no way implies that libraries that do not or cannot adopt the recommendations are in any way negligent.
-
Map Collection Security GuidelinesThese guidelines will allow librarians and curators to better assess their map collections, prepare security proposals for their administrations, and provide a more secure environment for their map collections.
-
Public access computers in libraries and liability concernsInterpretation of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) of 1998 amending the U.S. copyright law was Section 512, “limitation on liability relating to material online.” This provision protects online service providers (OSPs) from liability for third party infringement. This means that an online service provider will not be held responsible for the alleged infringements of users of their networks.
Books on Library Safety and Security
-
Disaster Planning for Libraries - Library Safety and Security (a WorldCat list)Books on disaster planning, disaster and emergency preparedness, disaster response, and disaster management and recovery; books on library safety; books on archives and library security.
-
The Black Belt Librarian by ISBN: 9780838911372Publication Date: 2012-12-01This book demonstrates that libraries can maintain their best traditions of openness and public access by creating an unobtrusive yet effective security plan. -
Case Studies in Library Security by ISBN: 9781563089367Publication Date: 2002-10-17This book portrays 40 security and safety issues that may arise in libraries. Each case is presented within a fictional but plausible library situation. The case studies are accompanied by discussion questions. -
Defusing the Angry Patron by ISBN: 9781555707316Publication Date: 2010-12-01New technologies for service delivery have ushered in new venues for frustration. To help librarians know how to react in the face of patron anger, 25 coping strategies are described. This book shows how effective staff training and intentional behaviors can positively affect patron behavior, minimize altercations, and ease the stress of public services staff. -
Guide to Security Considerations and Practices for Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collection Libraries by ISBN: 9780838985922Publication Date: 2011-07-01This book is intended specifically to address security in special collection libraries. While other topics are touched upon, the key focus of this volume is on the prevention of theft of rare materials. -
The Library Renovation, Maintenance, and Construction Handbook by ISBN: 9781555707170Publication Date: 2011-01-01See Chapter 7: Library Security and Safety in Building Design and Construction, which "examines a variety of threats to safety and security and describes how building design, coupled with staff training, can be used to ameliorate threats to library users, staff, collections, and equipment." -
The Library's Crisis Communications Planner by ISBN: 9780838908709Publication Date: 2004-07-01When emergencies escalate, knowing what to do in advance is the key. Libraries that are equipped with ready contact information, talking points, and spokespeople at hand, are prepared to limit damage from big events or ensure small problems don't escalate. -
Library Security by ISBN: 9780838913307Publication Date: 2015-06-01Library work is really all about people, and the inclusive, welcoming nature of the library means that all kinds of people pass through its doors. This book provides advice that will empower library staff in their personal security and give them the tools to confidently communicate with their colleagues, patrons, and members of law enforcement regarding inappropriate behavior. -
The Library Security and Safety Guide to Prevention, Planning, and Response by ISBN: 9780838909492Publication Date: 2008-04-01Libraries need to be open and inviting, yet safe for patrons, staff, and collections. How can you ensure your library is both accessible and secure? Security planning, part of disaster response and continuous operations planning, is the key to proactively addressing potential safety issues. -
A Trauma-Informed Approach to Library Services by ISBN: 9780838919811Publication Date: 2020-07-14Though originating in the fields of health and social services, trauma-informed care is a framework that holds great promise for application to library work. Empathetic service, positive patron encounters, and a more trusting workplace are only a few of the benefits that this approach offers. Library administrators, directors, and reference and user services staff will all benefit from learning the six key principles of trauma-informed care outlined in this book.
