Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Libraries Transform: The Expert in the School Library: Resources for PSEL Competencies

Content to support school librarians’ expertise to effectively impact student achievement and school communities.

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #1 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL COMPETENCY #1 Resources for Mission, Vision, Core Values 

Link to COMPETENCY #1 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: 
Effective School Library leaders develop, advocate, and enact a shared mission, vision, and core values of high-quality education and academic and/or professional success and well-being of each learner.

ARTICLE Aligning SL-PSEL Competency #1 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "Your Mission: Implement AASL Standards" by Dorcas Hand

INEFFECTIVE

Koren, Johan. "Vision Mission Goals and Objectives for the School Library Media Center." 2008. SlideShare. Lecture. Even though this is 2008, it covers the overview beautifully.
 

Matthews, Steve. "Five Answers to Successful Strategic Planning." 21st Century Library Blog, 13 Jan. 2014. Includes great chart illustrating the process.

"Strategic Planning for Libraries: School Libraries." Massachusetts Library System, 26 Oct. 2016. Includes a template/worksheet.

EMERGING

Koren, Johan. "Vision Mission Goals and Objectives for the School Library Media Center.” 2008. SlideShare. Lecture. Even though this is 2008, it covers the overview beautifully.
 

Matthews, Steven. "Five Answers to Successful Strategic Planning." 21st Century Library Blog, 13 Jan. 2014. Includes great chart illustrating the process.
 

AASL. "AASL's L4L Sample School Librarian Performance and Evaluation System." Learning for Life. AASL, 2009.

 

"Strategic Planning for Libraries: School Libraries." Massachusetts Library System, 26 Oct. 2016. Includes a template/worksheet.

EFFECTIVE and HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Burns, Elizabeth. "Take Action! Advocacy = Building Stakeholder Relationships." School Library Connection October 2015.
 

Foote, Carolyn. "School Libraries: Leading the Way into the Future." School Library Connection October 2015.


Dickinson, Gail K. "The Next Generation of Us." School Library Connection December 2016.

 

GENERAL

Matthews, Stephen A., and Kimberly D. Matthews. Crash Course in Strategic Planning. Santa Barbara, CA, ABC-CLIO, 2013.

Crowley, John D. Developing a Vision: Strategic Planning for the School Librarian in the 21st Century. 2nd ed., Santa Barbara, Libraries Unlimited, 2011.

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Papers, Policies and Toolkits, etc.

AASL. Definition for an Effective School Library Program. Revised 2018.

AASL. Instructional Role for the School Librarian. 2016.

AASL. Role of the School Library. Revised 2019.

AASL. Confidentiality of Library Records. 2012.

Complete list of AASL position statements

Hopkins, Dianne McAfee. School Library Media Centers and Intellectual Freedom. 2001. (archived)

Access to Resources and Services in the School Library Media Program, An Interpretation of the LIBRARY BILL OF RIGHTS. 2014.

Schement, Jorge Reina. Imagining Fairness: Equality and Equity of Access in Search of Democracy. An article from the forum, "The Information Commons, New Technology, and the Future of Libraries." Published June 2002 at info-commons.org, Copyright © Jorge Reina Schement

 

KQ

Adams, Helen, Editor. "Intellectual Freedom." Knowledge Quest vol. 44, no. 1, Sept/Oct. 2015. Full issue.

Adams, Helen. "Intellectual Freedom 101." Knowledge Quest vol. 36, no. 2, Nov/Dec 2007. pp.12-15.

Books

Intellectual Freedom Resources - http://www.ala.org/advocacy/intfreedom/resources

This page, managed by the ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom offers a wide range of intellectual freedom resources, including the link to purchase the most recent edition of the Intellectual Freedom Manual as well as a detailed list of useful documents, guidelines, resolutions and publications. 

 

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)

  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion

  • all aspects of FutureReady Libraries including collaboration and curation

  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #2 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL Competency #2 Resources for Ethical Principles and Professional Norms

Link to COMPETENCY #2 RUBRIC details

OVERVIEW: Effective School Library leaders act ethically and according to professional norms to promote each learner’s academic success and well-being and/or practitioners’ professional success.

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #2 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "Engaging with Our Core Values" by Susan D. Ballard 

INEFFECTIVE

Baxter, Veanna. "Ethics And The Library Media Specialist." School Library Media Activities Monthly, vol. 25, no. 2, 2008, pp. 27-29. ERIC, Web. Accessed 12 November 2016.

 

Be sure to read and apply the ALA/AASL ethics links listed here:

ALA Library Bill of Rights and AASL Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights
Access to Resources and Services in the School Library Media Program
Other interpretations related to minors’ access to library resources.

EMERGING

Adams, Helen R. "Internet Filtering: Are We Making Any Progress?" School Library Connection April 2016.

 

Levitov, Deborah. "Educating School Administrators." School Library Monthly, vol. 26, no. 6, 2010, pp. 45-47. ERIC, Web. Accessed  20 October 2016.
 

Cramb, Peter. "Library Ethics: Eight Cylinder Engine Or Rear Windscreen Wipers?." Aplis, vol. 7, no. 4, 1994, p. 226. Professional Development Collection, Web. Accessed 18 October 2016.

EFFECTIVE

Haycock, Ken. "Leadership Is About You. (Cover Story)." School Library Monthly, vol. 26, no. 6, 2010, pp. 42-44. Academic Search Complete. Web. Accessed 20 October 2016.


Martin, Ann M. "Achieving That Elusive Leadership Zone." Knowledge Quest, vol. 45, no. 1, 2016, pp. 54-60. Academic Search Complete. Web. Accessed 20 October 2016.

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

"International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA)."International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA). IFLA, June 2015. Web. Accessed 30 October 2016.

GENERAL

Adams, Helen. “Protecting Intellectual Freedom and Privacy in Your School Library.” Libraries Unlimited, 2013.

 

Hoffman, Kathy. "Professional Ethics And Librarianship." Texas Library Journal, vol. 81, no. 3, 2005, p. 96. Accessed 12 November 2016.

 

Schement, Jorge Reina. Imagining Fairness: Equality and Equity of Access in Search of Democracy. An article from the forum, "The Information Commons, New Technology, and the Future of Libraries." Published June 2002 at info-commons.org

 

Simpson, Carol. "School Library Ethics--A Battle Of Hats." Library Media Monthly, vol. 22, no. 4, 2004, pp. 22-23. ERIC. Web.

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Statements, Policies, Toolkits, etc.

Code of Ethics of the American Library Association.Advocacy, Legislation &Amp; Issues, 4 Jan. 2017, .

Declaration of the Right to School Libraries. 2014.

Library Bill of Rights.” AAUP Bulletin, vol. 43, no. 2, 1 June 1957, pp. 288–288.

Access to Resources and Services in the School Library Media Program.” Advocacy, Legislation & Issues, American Library Association, 4 Oct. 2016.

Other interpretations related to minors’ access to library resources. Various dates.

 

Hopkins, Dianne McAfee. School Library Media Centers and Intellectual Freedom. 2001. (archived)

 

KQ

Adams, Helen, Editor. "Intellectual Freedom." Knowledge Quest vol. 44, no. 1, Sept/Oct. 2015. Full issue.

Adams, Helen. "Intellectual Freedom 101." Knowledge Quest vol. 36, no. 2, Nov/Dec 2007. pp. 12-15.

 

Books

Intellectual Freedom Resources 

This page, managed by the ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom offers a wide range of intellectual freedom resources, including the link to purchase the most recent edition of the Intellectual Freedom Manual as well as a detailed list of useful documents, guidelines, resolutions and publications.

 

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)

  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion

  • all aspects of FutureReady Libraries including collaboration and curation

  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #3 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL Competency #3 Resources for Equity and Cultural and Linguistic Responsiveness

Link to COMPETENCY #3 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: 
Effective School Library leaders strive for equity and inclusivity of educational opportunity, and culturally and linguistically responsive practices to promote each learner’s academic and/or professional success and well-being. 

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #3 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "In a School Library, Equity is Multifaceted" by Dorcas Hand

 

INEFFECTIVE

2016 ALA Emerging Leaders-Team A. “Resource Guide for Underserved Populations.” ALA, 2016.

 

Farmer, L. S. J. (2016). Thinking globally locally." CSLA Journal, 39(2), 18-19.  “importance for school library staff to become globally literate in order to meet the needs of multicultural student population in California.”

 

Howard, T. C. (2010). Why race and culture matter in schools: Closing the achievement gap in America’s classrooms. New York, NY: Teachers College Press.

 

Neuman, Eric. "Disconnected in the Connected World." School Library Connection December 2015.

 

Wong, Tracey. "eTools and Ideas for English Language Learners." School Library Connection September 2015.

EMERGING

Hunsinger, Valarie. School librarians as equity warriors. Knowledge Quest, 44(1). 2015.

 

Kimmel, Sue C. Developing collections to empower learners. Chicago, IL: AASL, 2014.

 

Paradis, Judi. "Exploring Your School Continent by Continent: An Approach to Multicultural Sharing." School Library Connection January 2016.

 

Patton, J. A.  (2008). You're not bilingual, so what? Library Media Connection, 2(4), 22-25.

EFFECTIVE

Martin, C. (2016). A library's role in digital equity. Young Adult Library Services, 14(4),  34-36.

 

Schrodt, K., Fain, J. G., & Hasty, M. (2015). "Exploring culturally relevant texts with kindergartners and their families." Reading Teacher, 68(8), 589-598.

 

Stripling, B. K. (2015). "Creating a culture of intellectual freedom through leadership and advocacy." Knowledge Quest, 44(1), 14-19.

 

Zilonis, Mary Frances, and Chris Swerling. "On Common Ground. Effective Teaching Strategies for ELL Students in the School Library, Part 1: What Language Do You Speak?." School Library Connection August 2016.

 

Zilonis, Mary Frances, and Chris Swerling. "On Common Ground. Effective Teaching Strategies for ELL Students in the School Library, Part 2: Word Walls." School Library Connection August 2016.

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Gangwish, Kim. "Deaf ≠ Silenced: Serving the Needs of the Deaf/Hard-of-Hearing Students in School Libraries." School Library Connection October 2015.

 

Li, S. C. (2015). Advancing multicultural education: New historicism in the high school English classroom. High School Journal, 99(1), 4-26.

 

Peterson, B., Gunn, A., Brice, A., &  Alley, K. Exploring names and identity through multicultural literature in K-8 ​classrooms. Multicultural Perspectives, 2015 17(1), 39-45.

GENERAL

Lewis, C. W., & Landsman, J. (2010). White Teachers, Diverse Classrooms: Creating Inclusive Schools, Building on Students' Diversity, and Providing True Educational Equity. Sterling, VA: Stylus Publishing. (Available  in EBSCOhost eBook database)

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Statements, Policies, Toolkits, etc

Equity Brochure. ALA, n.d).

Resource guide for underserved populations. AASL, 2016)..

 

KQ 

Adams, Helen, Editor. "Intellectual Freedom." Knowledge Quest vol. 44, no. 1, Sept/Oct. 2015. Full issue.

Adams, Helen. "Intellectual Freedom 101." Knowledge Quest vol. 36, no. 2, Nov/Dec 2007. pp.12-15.

Butler, R. P. (2016). Copyright and school libraries in the digital age. Knowledge Quest, 45(2), 6-7. 

 

Hunsinger, V. (2015). "School librarians as equity warriors." Knowledge Quest, vol. 44, no. 1, Sept-Oct 2015.

 

Kumasi, Kafi and Sandra Hughes-Hassell, eds. “Diversity Matters: Moving Beyond Equality Toward Equity in Youth Services.” Knowledge Quest, vol.45, no. 3, Jan-Feb. 2017.

 

Books

Bush, G. M., ed. (2009). School library media programs in action: Civic engagement, social justice, and equity. Chicago, IL: AASL. (Best of KQ series)

 

Magi, T. & Garnar, M., eds. (2015).  Intellectual freedom manual, 9th ed. Chicago, IL: ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom.

 

Montiel-Overall, P. & Adcock, D. C., eds.  (2009). School library services in a multicultural society.  Chicago, IL: AASL. (Best of KQ Series)

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)

  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion

  • all aspects of FutureReady Libraries including collaboration and curation

  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #4 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL Competency #4 Resources for Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment

Link to COMPETENCY #4 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: 
Effective School Library leaders design, deliver and support intellectually rigorous and coherent systems of curriculum, instruction and assessment to promote each learner’s academic and/or professional success and well-being.

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #4 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "It’s (Y)OUR Job" by Sara Kelly Johns​

INEFFECTIVE

Buzzeo, Toni. The Collaboration Handbook. Columbus,OH: Linworth, 2008.

 

Moreillon, Judi. "Coteaching: A Strategic Evidence-Based Practice for Collaborating School Librarians." School Library Connection February 2016.

 

Moreillon, Judi. "Leadership: School Librarian Evaluation." School Library Monthly 30.2 (2013): n. pag. Downloadable PDF.

 

Valenza, Joyce Kasman. Mindset for School Library Innovators. Infographic. Infographic file. Joyce’s skill at explaining what it takes to be a school librarian is consummate, and this pictograph is a strong example.

EMERGING

Morris, Rebecca J. "The Power of Sharing Assessment." School Library Connection March 2016.
 

Colorado Dept of Ed Highly Effective School Library Program. Judy’s Example 3rd grade Annual Growth Plan Template. Colorado Dept. of Ed, n.d.

EFFECTIVE

Colorado Dept. of Ed.  Highly Effective School Library Program with rubric. Colorado Dept. of Ed., 2016.
 

Stripling, Barbara K. "Building Trust and Empowerment through Assessment." School Library Connection March 2016.

 

Zilonis, Mary Francis, and Chris Swerling. "On Common Ground: A Relevant Library Curriculum Ensures Rigor." School Library Connection, Jan.-Feb. 2017, p. 45.

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Colorado Dept. of Ed.  Highly Effective School Library Program with rubric. Colorado Dept. of Ed., 2016.
 

Waskie-Laura, Nicole, and Susan LeBlanc. "Images for Inquiry: Using Visually Based Texts to Scaffold Complexity." School Library Connection November 2015.
 

Wendell, Diana. "Data-Driven Collaboration: Student Assessment Data as a Partner in Academic Success." School Library Connection, Mar. 2016, pp. 31-33.

GENERAL

The School Librarian’s Guide to Success in the PA Department of Education Educator Effectiveness System: Using The Model Curriculum for PA School Library Programs as a Foundation and Possible examples of how the Framework For Teaching could apply to School Librarians

Harada, Violet H. and Joan M. Yoshina. Inquiry Learning through Librarian-Teacher Partnerships. Linworth, 2004.

 

Kuhlthau, Carol C., Leslie K. Maniotes & Ann K. Caspari.  Guided Inquiry : Learning in the 21st Century, 2nd edition.   Libraries Unlimited, 2015.

 

Loertscher, David, Carol Koechlin & Sandi Zwann. Ban Those Bird Units! 15 Models for Teaching and Learning in Information-rich and Technology-rich Environments. Hi Willow Research and Publishing, 2005.

 

McKenzie, Jamie. Learning to Question, to Wonder, to Learn.  FNO Press, 2005.
 

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Statements, Policies, Toolkits, etc.

AASL Learning Standards & Common Core State Standards Crosswalk. Chicago, IL: American Association of School Librarians. 18 Feb. 2016.
American Association of School Librarians. National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians and School Libraries. Chicago, ALA/AASL. 2018. Information can also be found at https://standards.aasl.org/  

---. "Definition of an Effective School Library." ALA, Revised 2018.
---. "Instructional Role of the School Librarian." ALA, 25 June 2016.
---. "Position Statement on Digital Content and E-books in School Library Collections." ALA, 28 June 2013.
---. "Role of the School Library Program." ALA, Revised 2019.
KQ

Bergstrom-Michael, Tasha and Jole Seroff, Editors. Themed Issue: What makes a Literacy? Knowledge Quest 44:5, May/June 2016.

 

Keeling, Mary, Editor. Inquiry. Knowledge Quest 43:2, November/December 2014.

 

Moreillon, Judi and Susan Ballard, Editors. Coteaching. Knowledge Quest 40:4, March/April 2012.

School Library Research

 

Kimmel, Sue. Collaboration as School Reform: Are There Patterns in the Chaos of Planning with Teachers?  pdf icon School Library Research Vol. 15 (2012).

 

Todd, Ross J. "Evidence-Based Practice and School Libraries: Interconnections of Evidence, Advocacy, and Actions." Knowledge Quest 43:3 (Jan./Feb. 2015):8-15. 

 

Valenza, Joyce Kasman. "Evolving with Evidence: Leveraging New Tools for EBP." Knowledge Quest (Jan./Feb. 2015):36-43.

Books

 

Moreillon, Judi and Ballard, Susan, eds. Instructional partnership: Pathway to Leadership. AASL,  2012. (Best of KQ series)

 

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)

  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion

  • all aspects of FutureReady Libraries including collaboration and curation

  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #5 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL COMPETENCY #5 Resources for Community of Care and Support for Students

Link to COMPETENCY #5 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: 
Effective School Library Leaders cultivate an inclusive caring and supportive school community that promotes each learner’s academic and/or professional success, personal interests and well-being. 

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #5 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "What would Nordstrom do? Or, If the Shoe Fits, Wear It!" by Susan D. Ballard 

INEFFECTIVE

Techman, Melissa. "Beyond Junior Shelvers: Involving Students in Creative Library Work." School Library Connection February 2016.

 

Wolcott, Linda Lachance. “Understanding How Teachers Plan: Strategies for Successful Instructional Partnerships.” SLMR, vol. 22, no. 3, Spring 199: 161-66. Accessed 1 Mar 2017.
 

Be sure to look at the ALA publications listed below.

EMERGING

Barnett, Cassandra. “The More Things Change the More They Stay the Same.Knowledge Quest, vol. 43, no. 4, March/April 2015, pp. 30–38.

 

Holzweiss, Kristina and Gina Seymour. "Community Action and the Student Maker." School Library Connection October 2016.

 

Jones, Jami.. Dropout Prevention through the School Library: Dispositions, Relationships, and Instructional Practices. School Libraries Worldwide, 15. 2(200): 77-90.

 

Plemmons, Andy. "Power of Student Voice." School Library Connection  August 2016.
 

Wallace, Virginia and Whitney Norwood Husid. Collaboration for Inquiry-Based Learning: School Librarians and Teachers Partner for Student Achievement, 2nd ed. ABC-CLIO, 2016.

EFFECTIVE

Buzzeo, Toni. Collaborating to Meet Standards. Linworth Publishing, 2007. (K-2, 2007 K-6, 2nd ed., 2007; 7-12, 2002]

 

Hartman, Angela. "From Wonder to Social Justice: How One Book Changed a Community." School Library Connection  June 2016.

 

Hartzell, Gary N. Building Influence for the School Librarian: Tenets, Targets & Tactics. Linworth Pub., 2003.
 

Kuhlthau, Carol C., Leslie K. Maniotes and Ann K. Caspari. Guided Inquiry: Learning in the 21st Century, 2nd ed. Libraries Unlimited, 2015.
 

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Jones, Jami L. (2013). Caring is essential. Knowledge Quest , vol.40, no.5., May/June 2012.

 

Kimmel, Sue C. “Pass the Chocolate Planning with Teachers. Knowledge Quest, vol. 42. No. 1, September/October 2013, pp. 48-51.
 

Kuhlthau, Carol C., Leslie K. Maniotes and Ann K. Caspari. Guided Inquiry Design: A Framework for Inquiry in Your School. Libraries Unlimited, 2012.

GENERAL

Kaaland, Christie. Emergency Preparedness and Disaster Recovery in School Libraries: Creating a Safe Haven. ABC-CLIO, 2014.

 

Morris, Rebecca J. School Libraries and Student Learning: A Guide for School Leaders. Harvard Education Press, 2015.

 

Small, Ruth V., Marilyn P Arnone, Barbara K. Stripling and Pam Berger. Teaching for Inquiry: Engaging the Learner Within. Nea- Schumann, 2012.

 

Sullivan, Margaret L. High Impact School Library Spaces: Envisioning New School Library Concepts. Libraries Unlimited, 2014.

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Papers, Policies and Toolkits

Definition for Effective School Library Program. Revised 2018.

Parent Advocate Toolkit. n.d.

Resource Guide for Underserved Populations. AASL, 2016.

AASL Advocacy Toolkit.

School Libraries Transform Learning, 2014.  (digitalmagazine)

Strong School Libraries Build Strong Students. 2013. (infographic)

 

KQ

Harland, Pam, Editor. Library Spaces. Knowledge Quest 42:4 March/April 2014.

 

Jones, Jami.L., Editor. (2013). Caring is essential. Knowledge Quest, 40:5 May/June 2012.

 

Books

Empowering Learners: Guidelines for School Library Media Programs. Chicago, IL, American Association of School Librarians, 2009.

 

21st-Century Approach to School Librarian Evaluation (Twenty-First Century Approach to School Librarian Evaluation). American Library Association, 2012.

 

Martin, Ann M. Empowering Leadership: Developing Behaviors for Success. Chicago, IL, American Association of School Librarians, 2013.

 

Sullivan, Margaret. Library Spaces for 21st-Century Learners: A Planning Guide for Creating New School Library Concepts. Chicago: American Library Association, 2013.

 

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)

  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion

  • all aspects of FutureReady Librarians including collaboration and curation

  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #6 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL Competency #6 Resources for Professional Capacity of School Library Personnel

Link to COMPETENCY #6 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: 
Effective School Library leaders develop their personal professional capacity and practice to best support other school personnel in order to promote each learner’s academic and/or professional success and well-being.

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #6 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "Who’s in YOUR PLN?" by Sara Kelly Johns

INEFFECTIVE

Jones, Jami, and Gail Bush. "What Defines an Exemplary School Librarian? An Exploration of Professional Dispositions." School Library Management, edited by Judi Repman and Gail K. Dickinson, ABC-CLIO, 2015, pp. 55-57.

 

Jones, Jami and Gail Bush. "What Defines and Exemplary School Librarian? An Exploration of Professional Dispositions." Library Media Connection, May/June 2009, pp. 10-12.

 

Stenzel, Carolyn. "’ I'm New Here…’ Making Friends, Staying Strong, and Having a Fantastic First Year as a School Librarian." Knowledge Quest, vol. 44, no. 2, 2015, pp. 74-77.
 

Warlick, David. "In-time, On-going, & Self-directed Professional Development: Personal learning networks." Digital Learning Collaborative, 2012.

 

EMERGING

Belardi, Bridget E. "The Administrator's Academy: Changing a District's Technological Mindset." School Library Connection January 2017. Really about how one librarian learned to develop her knowledge and job to influence her administration.

 

Moreillon, Judi. “Building Your Personal Learning Network. (PLN): 21st-Century School Librarians Seek Self-Regulated Professional Development Online.” Knowledge Quest, vol. 44 no. 3, 2016, pp. 64-69.

 

Jones, Jami, and Gail Bush. "What Defines an Exemplary School Librarian? An Exploration of Professional Dispositions." School Library Management, edited by Judi Repman and Gail K. Dickinson, ABC-CLIO, 2015, pp. 55-57.

EFFECTIVE

Cox, Marge. "Back to the Future Professional Development." Knowledge Quest, vol. 43 no. 4, 2015, 46.

 

Cooper, O. P. "How ISTE's Standards for Technology Coaches inform AASL's Standards for School Librarians." TechTrends, vol. 59, no. 3, 2015, pp. 48-53.    
 

Hoffman, Kelly M. and Mega Subramaniam, Saba Kawas, Ligaya Scaff, and Katie Davis. Connected Libraries: Surveying the Current Landscape and Charting a Path to the Future​. PDF. ConnectedLib Project, 2016.

 

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Kodama, Christie, et al. "Lilead Fellows Program: An Innovative Approach to Professional Development for School Library Leaders." Knowledge Quest, vol. 44, no. 4, 2016, pp. 54-59.

 

Fontichiaro, Kristin, and Angela Elkordy. "Digital Badges: Purposeful Design in Professional Learning Outcomes for K-12 Educators." Foundation of Digital Badges and Micro-Credentials. Springer International Publishing, 2016. Pp. 287-305.
 

Kuon, Tricia, Juanita Flores, and Janie Pickett. "The Biggest Classroom in the Building: Libraries Staffed with Certified Librarians in Many Schools Hold Unexploited Potential to Raise Achievement and Meet the More Rigorous Demands of the Common Core." Phi Delta Kappan, vol. 95, no. 7, 2014, pp. 65-67.

 

GENERAL

 

Barack, Lauren. “School Librarians Want More Tech—and Bandwidth | SLJ 2015 Tech Survey. School Library Journal,  3 Aug. 2015.

 

Office of Educational Technology. Future Ready Librarians. 2016.

 

School Library Journal. Infographic: Librarians Embrace Tech Instruction.” SLJ Feb.2, 2016. School Library Journal.

 

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Statements, Policies, Toolkits, etc

AASL eAcademy course list  

eCOLLAB complementary content. Additional content available with AASL membership login.

 

KQ

Knowledge Quest Blog.  Professional Development topic thread

 

Gordon, Carol, Editor. “Evidence-based practice.” Knowledge Quest, vol. 43, no. 3,  Jan./Feb. 2015.

 

Starkey, Carolyn Jo, Editor. “Personal Learning Networks.” Knowledge Quest, vol. 41, no. 2 Nov./Dec. 2012. Pp. 6+.

 

Ballard, Susan D. (2016). "AASL at 65: A Reflection on and Affirmation of Enduring Core Values that Sustain Us." Knowledge Quest, vol. 45, no. 1, 2015-16, pp. 26-33.
Montiel-Overall, Patricia and Donald C. Adcock, eds. Collaboration. Best of KQ series. AASL, 2007.

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)

  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion

  • all aspects of FutureReady Librarians including collaboration and curation

  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #7 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL Competency #7 Resources for Professional Community for Teachers and Staff

Link to COMPETENCY #7 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: Effective School Library leaders foster development of a professional community of teachers and other professional staff to promote each learner’s academic and/or professional success and well-being. 

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #7 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "Everybody’s Teacher" by Susan D. Ballard 

INEFFECTIVE

Abilock, Debbie, Violet H. Harada and Kristin  Fontichiaro, K. “Growing Schools: Effective Professional Development.” Teacher Librarian, vol. 41, no. 1, 2013, pp. 8-13.

 

Desimone, L. M. “ A Primer on Effective Professional Development.” Phi Delta Kappan, 92(6), 2011, 68-71.

 

Gerwitz, Stacey. "The Many Faces of Collaboration." School Library Connection December 2015.

 

Harvey, C. “Adult Learners: Professional Development and the School Librarian.”  Libraries Unlimited, 2012.
 

Thessin, R. A., and J. P. Starr.  “Supporting the Growth of Effective Professional Learning Communities Districtwide.”  Phi Delta Kappan, 92(6), 2011. pp. 48-54.

EMERGING

Dana, N. F., & D. Yendel-Hoppey. “The Reflective Educator’s Guide to Professional Development: Coaching Inquiry-Oriented Learning Communities.” Corwin, 2008.

 

Danielson, Charlotte.  “Enhancing Professional Practice: A Framework for Teaching,” 2nd ed. ASCD, March, 2008

 

Kaplan, A. G. Is your School Librarian 'Highly Qualified'?  Phi Delta Kappan, Vol. 89, No. 04, December 2007, pp. 300-303.

 

Harvey, Carl A., II. "Collaborating with the Coach." School Library Connection February 2016.
 

Wolf, M.A, R. Jones, and D. Gilbert. Leading in and beyond the library,  Alliance for Excellent Education, Jan. 28, 2014.

EFFECTIVE

Ahlfield, Kelly  “Hands on Learning with a Hands-Off Approach for Professional Development.” School Library Monthly, 26 (6), Feb 2010. pp. 16-18.

 

Anderson, Mary Alice  Jump-starting Staff Development. School Library Journal; 49(8), 36.  Aug 2003.

 

Harvey II, Carl  Putting On the Professional Development Hat. School Library Monthly, 29(5), Feb 2013. pp.32-34.

 

Johnston, Melissa. "Professional Learners. Differentiating for Adult Learners." School Library Connection May 2016.

 

Montiel-Overall, Patricia & Anthony C.R. Hernández,  “The Effect of Professional Development on Teacher and Librarian Collaboration.”  School Library Research, v15   (2012)

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Evans, Stony, and Misti Bell. "Collaborating with Teachers on the ‘Fringe." School Library Connection February 2016.

 

Higgs-Horwell, Melissa; Schwelik, Jennifer  “Building a Professional Learning Community: Getting a Large Return on a Small Investment--I Get by with a Little Help from My Friends. Library Media Connection, v26 n3 Nov-Dec 2007. p36-38

 

Valenza, J.K.  “Reimagining School Libraries to Lead Future Learning. In School Librarianship: Past, Present, and Future” Edited by Susan Alman. Beta Phi Mu Scholars Series. Rowman & Littlefield (2016 in process)
 

Wolf, Mary Ann; Jones, Rachel; Gilbert, Daniel. Leading In and Beyond the Library. Alliance for Excellent Education, 2014.

GENERAL

Abilock, Debbie, Kristin Fontichiaro & Violet Harada (editors). Growing Schools: Librarians as Professional Developers. ABC-CLIO, 2012.
 

Sykes, Judith. The Whole School Library Learning Commons: An Educator's Guide: An Educator's Guide. Forward by David Loertscher. ABC-CLIO, 2016.

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Statements, Policies, Toolkits, etc

AASL: Working Together Is Working Smarter Infographic

 

KQ
Johnston, Melissa, and Ann M. Martin, Editors. "Mentoring Through Partnerships." Knowledge Quest, vol. 41, no. 4, Mar.-Apr. 2013.

 

School Library Research
Harada, Violet. “A Practice-Centered Approach to Professional Development: Teacher-Librarian Collaboration in Capstone Projects.” pdf icon School Library Research Vol. 19 (2016).

 

Kimmel, Sue. Collaboration as School Reform: Are There Patterns in the Chaos of Planning with Teachers?  pdf icon School Library Research Vol. 15 (2012).

 

Montiel-Overall, Patricia and Anthony C.R. Hernandez. "The Effect of Professional Development on Teacher and Librarian Collaboration: Preliminary Findings Using a Revised Instrument." SLMR, vol. 15, 2012.

Books

Martin, Ann. Empowering Leadership. ALA, 2013.

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)

  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion

  • all aspects of FutureReady Librarians including collaboration and curation

  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #8 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL Competency #8 Resources for Meaningful Engagement of Families and Community  

Link to COMPETENCY 8 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: 
Effective School Library leaders engage families and the community in meaningful, reciprocal, and mutually beneficial ways to promote each learner’s academic and/or professional success and well-being. 

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #8 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "It DOES Take a Village!" by Sara Kelly Johns 

INEFFECTIVE

Ayoub, Lee, Greg D'Addario, Anne Malleck, and Sandra Sterne. "Getting Second-Language Parents Involved..Here's How!" School Library Connection  September 2015.

Phipps-Soeiro, Liz. “Turning the School Library into a Community Hub: Here’s How.” School Library Journal, 21 Apr. 2015.

EMERGING

 

Pennsylvania School Librarians Association, Tools for Parents. PSLA, 2016.
 

Smith, Daniella. “Embracing Mutual Interest: Strategies for Collaborating with Public Librarians. School Library Connection February 2016.

EFFECTIVE

ALSC. ALSC/AASL/YALSA School/Public Library Cooperation. Association for Library Service to Children, 2009.

 

Carpinelli, Tish. "3D Printing in the Media Center: A Dynamic Tool for Learning and Outreach." School Library Connection  January 2016.

 

Murvosh, Marta. Partners in Success: When school and public librarians join forces, kids win. School Library Journal, Jan. 1, 2013.

 

TLA. Educating a Child in 2017: Administrators & School Librarians Partnering for Student Success. Texas Library Assn, 2017.

TLA. Educating a Child in 2018: Parents & School Librarians Partnering for Student Success.  Texas Library Assn, 2018.

TLA. Educating a Child in 2017: Teachers & School Librarians Partnering for Student Success.   Texas Library Assn, 2017.
 

ALSC. ALSC/AASL/YALSA School/Public Library Cooperation. Association for Library Service to Children, 2009.

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Bengel, Tricia." Nashville Public Library Partners with Local School Libraries to Boost Results for Students." School Library Journal, July 17, 2014. 

 

Hand, Dorcas. Students Need Libraries in HISD. SNL-HISD, 2013-present.

Home Page shows group’s Mission

HISD pages to engage community discussion with school board

Advocacy Tools for Allies collects on separate pages useful articles and links for parents, teachers, administrators and policy makers.

 

Stewart, Ken. Transforming School Communities: An Interview with Blue Valley High School's Ken Stewart. Libraries Transform, 2015.

GENERAL

Non-library perspectives on Family and Community Engagement

Minnesota Dept. of Education. Family, School and Community Engagement . n.d. No direct mention of libraries, but strong overview of the concept of family engagement.

 

National Center for Families Learning. Family engagement Brief. 2014. 2 public school systems and a public library – no direct mention of a school library but a strong overview of what family and community engagement can do for students.

 

Wisconsin Dept of Public Instruction. Family and Community Engagement. n.d.

Ventura [CA] County Ofc of Education “Purpose of Family Engagement.” n.d.

Ventura County [CA] Office of Education. Family Engagement Think Tank. n.d.

 

School Library perspectives on Family and Community Engagement

Farmer, L.S.J. (2020).  Family literacy: The roles of school libraries and public libraries. In Blankstein, A.M, Houston, P.D. & Cole, R.W.,

Leadership for family and community involvement, (pp. 71-86). Thousand Oaks, Corwin Press.

 

University of Pittsburgh and PA School Librarians Association. The School Librarian's Guide to Success in the PDE Educator Effectiveness System p.25-27. In addition: Possible examples of how th framework for Teaching could apply to School Librarians. 2016.

 

Alliance for Excellent Education. "Leading In and Beyond the Library." Alliance for Excellent Education. N.p., 28 Jan. 2014.

 

Utah Library Association, Collaboration Between School and Public Libraries Best Practices. ULA, 2011.

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Statements, Policies, Toolkits, etc

Public Library and School Library Collaboration Toolkit, AASL/ALSC/YALSA Interdivisional Committee on School/Public Library Cooperation, 2018.

Toolkit for Promoting School Libraries. AASL, 2014-15.

Resource Guide for Underserved Populations. AASL, 2016.

Parent Advocate Toolkit. AASL, n.d.

Brochures: School Library Programs Improve Student Learning (parents, parents-spanish, teachers, administrators, policy makers)

Standards for 21st Century Learner

Declaration for the Right to School Libraries

 

E-collab

Stewart, Ken. Transform Your Library Community. Webinar (36 minutes) AASL E-collab, April 12, 2016.

 

KQ

Green, Lucy Santos, Editor. School Library and University Partnerships. Knowledge Quest 44:2 (2015-16). Themed issue.

 

Barnett, Cassandra, Editor. Summer Learning. Knowledge Quest 43:5,May/June 2015.

Harland, Pam, Editor. Library Spaces. Knowledge Quest 42:4 March/April 2014

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)

  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion

  • all aspects of FutureReady Libraries including collaboration and curation

  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #9 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL Competency #9 Resources for Operations and Management

Link to COMPETENCY #9 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: 
Effective School Library leaders manage resources and operations to promote each learner’s academic and/or professional success and well-being by creating an inviting environment, providing a flexible program, developing the collection, curating and organizing the resources, integrating digital and technology access, managing appropriate funding and encouraging critical thinking to create a community of lifelong learners. 

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #9 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "Where the Rubber Meets the Road" by Dorcas Hand

INEFFECTIVE

Weisburg, Hilda, and Ruth Toor. New on the Job: a School Librarian's Guide to Success, Second Edition. Chicago, ALA Editions, an Imprint of the American Library Association, 2015.

EMERGING

Donham, Jean. Enhancing Teaching and Learning: a Leadership Guide for School Library Media Specialists, Second Edition. New York, Neal-Schuman Publishers, 2008.

 

Donnelly, Andria. "Collaboration and Flexible Schedules: Winning Administrative Support." School Library Connection  March 2016.

 

Weisburg, Hilda, and Ruth Toor. New on the Job: a School Librarian's Guide to Success, Second Edition. Chicago, ALA Editions, an Imprint of the American Library Association, 2015.

 

Woolls, Blanche, and Ann C. Weeks. The School Library Manager, 5th Edition. Libraries Unlimited, 2013.
 

Young, Robyn. "Transforming My High School Library Facility." School Library Connection May 2016.

EFFECTIVE

Loertscher, David V. et al. Ban Those Bird Units!: 15 Models for Teaching and Learning in Information-Rich and Technology-Rich Environments. Salt Lake City, UT, Hi Willow Research and Publishing, 2005.
 

Green, Lucy Santos, and Kathryn Kennedy. "School Librarians and K-12 Online/Blended Learning: Moving Critical Conversation beyond the Medium." School Library Connection  May 2016.

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Weisburg, Hilda K., and Ruth Toor. Being Indispensable: A School Librarian's Guide to Becoming an Invaluable Leader. American Library Association, 2011.

GENERAL

 

Sullivan, Margaret L. High Impact School Library Spaces: Envisioning New School Library Concepts. Santa Barbara, CA, Libraries Unlimited, an Imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2015.
 

Woolls, Blanche, Ann C. Weeks, and Sharon Coatney. The School Library Manager, 5th Edition. Libraries Unlimited, 2013.

 

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Statements, Policies, Toolkits, etc

AASL Learning Standards & Common Core State Standards Crosswalk. Chicago, IL: American Association of School Librarians. 18 Feb. 2016.

 

American Association of School Librarians. National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians and School Libraries. Chicago, ALA/AASL. 2018. Information can also be found at https://standards.aasl.org/  
---. "Appropriate Staffing for School Libraries." ALA, Revised 2019.
---. "Definition of an Effective School Library Program." ALA, REvised 2018.
---. "Position Statement on Digital Content and E-books in School Library Collections." ALA, 28 June 2013.
---. "Position Statement on School Library Scheduling." ALA, Revised 2019.
---. "Position Statement on Labeling Books with Reading Levels." ALA, 18 July 2011.
---. "Position Statement on Quantitative Standards." ALA, 28 June 2013. 
---. "Library Privacy Guidelines for Students in K-12 Schools." ALA, 2016.
---. "Role of the School Library." ALA, Revised 2019.

Correlations between the AASL learning standards and the Next Generation Science Standards. Chicago, IL: American Association of School Librarians, 2015.  

Knowledge Quest

Church, Audrey, and Frances Reeve, Editors. “The Solo Librarian.” Knowledge Quest, vol. 40, no. 2, November/December 2011.

 

DeGroat, Wendy and Stephen Yates, Editors. “Futurecasting.” Knowledge Quest, vol. 40, no. 3, January/February 2012.

 

Jones, Jami, Editor. “Caring Is Essential.” Knowledge Quest, vol. 40, no. 5, May/June 2012.

 

Kimmel, Sue C. and Nancy E. Larsen, Editors. “Imagining the Future.” Knowledge Quest, vol. 42, no. 1, September/October 2013.

 

Harland, Pam, Editor. “Library Spaces.” Knowledge Quest, vol. 42, no. 4, March/April 2014.

 

School Library Research

Dow, Mirah J., and Jacqueline Mcmahon-Ladin. “School Librarian Staffing Levels and Student Achievement as Represented in 2006–2009 Kansas Annual Yearly Progress Data.” School Library Research, vol. 15, 2012. ERIC file.

 

Books

Kerby, Mona. Collection Development for the School Library Media Program: a Beginner's Guide. Chicago, IL, American Association of School Librarians, 2006.

 

Kimmel, Sue Crownfield. Developing Collections to Empower Learners. Chicago, IL, American Association of School Librarians a Division of the American Library Association, 2014.

 

Martin, Ann M. Empowering Leadership: Developing Behaviors for Success. Chicago, IL, American Association of School Librarians, 2013.

 

Sullivan, Margaret. Library Spaces for 21st-Century Learners: A Planning Guide for Creating New School Library Concepts. Chicago, IL, American Library Association, 2013.

 

Owen, Patricia. A 21st-Century Approach to: School Librarian Evaluation. Chicago, IL, American Association of School Librarians, 2012.

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)
  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion
  • all aspects of FutureReady Libraries including collaboration and curation
  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #10 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL Competency #10 Resources for School Improvement

Link to COMPETENCY #10 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: Effective School Library leaders act as agents of continuous improvement to promote each learner’s academic and/or professional success and well-being.

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #10 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "Strategic Planning and Evaluation = Results" by Susan D. Ballard downloadable PDF

INEFFECTIVE

 

Buzzeo, Toni. The Collaboration Handbook. Columbus, OH: Linworth, 2008

 

New York City School Library System, Empire State Information Fluency Continuum. New York, NY: New York City Department of Education, Office of Library Services,  2013.

EMERGING

Buzzeo, Toni. The Collaboration Handbook. Columbus, OH: Linworth, 2008

 

Coatney, Sharon. The Many Faces of School Library Leadership. Santa Barbara, CA, Libraries Unlimited, 2010.

 

Martin, Ann M. "Program Assessment: Enjoy the Journey and Results!" School Library Connection March 2016.

 

New York City School Library System, Empire State Information Fluency Continuum. New York, NY: New York City Department of Education, Office of Library Services,  2013.

 

Tomlinson, Carol A. The Differentiated Classroom: Responding to the Needs of All Learners. Alexandria, VA, Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, 1999.

 

Wallace, Virginia, and Whitney Norwood. Husid. Collaborating for Inquiry-Based Learning: School Librarians and Teachers Partner for Student Achievement. Santa Barbara, CA, Libraries Unlimited, 2011.

EFFECTIVE

Lancaster, Adam. “School Libraries: Using Data to Boost Student Literacy.”Teacher's Blog, Guardian News and Media, 16 Oct. 2012.

 

Lickteig, Stacy, and Jo O'Garro. “Data Crunching Proved This School Library Program Was Crucial. School Library Journal, School Library Journal, 8 July 2016.
 

Woolls, Blanche et al. The School Library Manager. Santa Barbara, CA, Libraries Unlimited, 2014.

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Calhoun, Emily F. “Action Research for School Improvement.Educational Leadership, vol. 59, no. 6, Mar. 2002, pp. 18–24.

 

Loertscher, David V., and Ross J. Todd. We Boost Achievement!: Evidence-Based Practice for School Library Media Specialists. Salt Lake City UT, Hi Willow Research, 2003.
 

Todd, Ross J. "Evidence-based Practice and School Libraries: Interconnections of evidence, advocacy and actions." Knowledge Quest 43.3 (2015): 8.

GENERAL

Bishop, Kay. Connecting Libraries with Classrooms: the Curricular Roles of the Media Specialist. 2nd ed., Worthington, OH, Linworth Pub., 2011.

 

Harada, Violet H., and Joan M. Yoshina. Assessing for Learning: Librarians and Teachers as Partners. Revised and expanded. Westport, CT, Libraries Unlimited, 2010.

 

Hughes-Hassell, Sandra, and Violet H. Harada. School Reform and the School Library Media Specialist. Westport, CT, Libraries Unlimited, 2007.
 

Kuhlthau, Carol Collier et al. Guided Inquiry: Learning in the 21st Century. 2nd ed. Westport, CT, Libraries Unlimited, 2007.

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Statements, Policies, Toolkits, etc

 

The School Librarian’s Role in Reading (position statement). ALA, 2010.

School Librarian’s Role in Reading Toolkit. ALA, n.d.

---. "Position Statement on Labeling Books with Reading Levels." ALA, 18 July 2011.

---. "Position Statement on the Role of the School Librarian in Reading Development." ALA, 1 Sept. 2010.

---. "Position Statement on the School Librarian's Role in Reading." ALA, 1 Sept. 2010.,
---. "Position Statement on the Value of Independent Reading in the School Library Program." ALA, Sept. 2010.
---. "Role of the School Library." pdf icon ALA, Revised 2019.

Toolkit for Promoting School Libraries. AASL, 2014-15.

Resource Guide for Underserved Populations. AASL, 2016.

 

KQ

Keeling, Mary, Editor. Inquiry. Knowledge Quest 42:2 November/December 2014.

 

School Library Research

Sue Kimmel. Collaboration as School Reform: Are There Patterns in the Chaos of Planning with Teachers?  pdf icon School Library Research Vol. 15 (2012).

Books

Weisburg, Hilda & Ruth Toor. Being Indispensable: A School Librarian’s Guide to Becoming an Invaluable Leader. ALA, 2011.

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)
  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion
  • all aspects of FutureReady Libraries including collaboration and curation
  • Intellectual freedom; Equity of access; Privacy; Confidentiality; Collaboration; Curation

 

Resources for SL PSEL Competency #11 - Useful Resources by Level of Understanding and Practice

SL-PSEL Competency #11 Resources for Literacy and Reading

Link to COMPETENCY 11 RUBRIC details
OVERVIEW: Effective School Library leaders promote reading for learning, personal growth, and enjoyment (and) are aware of major trends in children's and young adult literature. They select reading materials in multiple formats to support reading for information, pleasure, and lifelong learning. They use a variety of strategies to reinforce classroom reading instruction to address the diverse needs and interests of all readers. Literacy takes many forms (EX: digital, information, cultural, etc.) that all rely on the foundational literacy of reading.

ARTICLE Aligning SL PSEL Competency #11 with the AASL National Standards for School Libraries: "Librarians and Literacy: Constantly Leveling Up" by Dorcas Hand

INEFFECTIVE

Bates, Naomi. "Linking Literature to the Classroom." School Library Connection  June 2016.

 

Ruefle, Anne. Creating a Culture of Literacy: Programming Ideas for Elementary School Librarians. Santa Barbara, CA: Libraries Unlimited (ABC-CLIO), 2009.

 

Philpot, Chelsey. "How to Create a "Culture of Reading" | AASL 2013." School Library Journal. N.p., 25 Nov. 2013. Web.

EMERGING

Book Trust. Choosing a Just-Right Book! Lesson Plan. BookTrust.org.

 

BrainPop. "Ideas for Using BrainPOP Jr. to Teach Literacy." BrainPop Educators, BrainPop.

 

Kaaland, Christie. "There's Work to Be Done!" WNDB. weneeddiversebooks.org." School Library Connection  September 2015.

 

Krashen, Stephen D. The Power of Reading: Insights from the Research, 2nd ed.. Libraries Unlimited, 2004.

 

Varachi, Christine. The Tibrarian Handbook: A Teacher-Librarian's Guide to Transforming the Library Into a Center of Learning. Upstart Books, 2012.

EFFECTIVE

Serravallo, Jennifer. The Reading Strategies book: Your Everything Guide to Developing Skilled Readers. Heinemann, 2013.

 

Nesi, Olga M. Getting Beyond “Interesting”: Teaching Students the Vocabulary of Appeal to Discuss Their Reading. ABC-CLIO, 2012.

Reed, Jennifer Kelley. "Growing Readers and Parent Involvement through Picture Book Month." School Library Connection, November 2015.

HIGHLY EFFECTIVE

Plunkett, Katie, Kellie Keyser, Mary Craig, and Sarah FitzHenry . "How Does Books on Bikes Work?" School Library Connection, May 2016.
 

Scholastic. "School Libraries Work! A Compendium of Research Supporting the Effectiveness of School Libraries." Downloadable PDF file, 2016.

GENERAL

Arcia, Antero. Digital Is: The Many Forms of Literacy. National Writing Project, 2013.

"Global Read Aloud: One Book to Connect the World." Global Read Aloud.

Martin, Ann. M. Seven Steps to An Award Winning School Library Program. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2005.

National Council of Teachers of English. "The NCTE Definition of 21st Century Literacies." NCTE National Council of Teachers of English, Feb. 2013.

"We Need Diverse Books." We Need Diverse Books, 2014-15.

AASL Position Statements & other publications

Position Statements, Policies, Toolkits, etc

AASL, The School Librarian’s Role in Reading (position statement). ALA, 2010.

AASL, School Librarian’s Role in Reading Toolkit. ALA, n.d.

AASL SLMS Role in Reading Task Force. "What Every SLMS Should Know about Multiple Literacies." ALA, 2009.

YALSA Issue Brief: Teens Need Libraries  

YALSA Teens Need Libraries brochure

YALSA Adolescent Literacy Wiki

ALSC Babies Need Words Every Day

 

KQ

Bergstrom-Michaels, Tasha and Jole Seroff, Editors. What Makes a Literacy? Knowledge Quest 44:5 May/June 2016.

 

Barnett, Cassandra, Editor. Summer Learning. Knowledge Quest 43:5 May/June 2015.

 

School Library Research

Moore, Jennifer, and Maria Cahill. “Audiobooks: Legitimate ‘Reading’ Material for Adolescents? pdf icon School Library Research Vol. 19 (2016).

Kovalik, Cindy; Yutzey, Susan; and Laura Piazza. Information Literacy and High School Seniors: Perceptions of the Research Process. pdf icon  School Library Research Vol. 16 (2013).

 

Books

Bush, Gail. Every Student Reads: Collaboration and Reading to Learn.  ALA, 2005.

 

Kimmel, Sue C. Developing Collections to Empower Learners. AASL, 2014.

 

Moreillon, Judi, Coteaching Reading Comprehension Strategies in Elementary School Libraries.: Maximizing Your Impact. ALA, 2013.

 

---, Coteaching Reading Comprehension Strategies in Secondary School Libraries.: Maximizing Your Impact. ALA, 2012.

Additional considerations

In building skills in this area, it will be important to also read related standards and information that should be intrinsic to an understanding of Mission, Vision and Core Values. Readers will want to make specific reference to

  • ISTE’s core standards for digital literacy, critical thinking, etc.: Administrators, Teachers and Students (3 separate documents)

  • the ESSA process as it develops in coming years - use language that positions you for maximum inclusion

  • all aspects of FutureReady Libraries including collaboration and curation.