Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Style Guides
AMA Manual of Style by
Publication Date: 2009-03-27
The AMA Manual of Style is a guide for those seeking to publish research findings and anyone involved in medical or scientific publishing.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today.
Cite Right by
Publication Date: 2011-05-15
An overview of all major systems of citation, updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
Publication Date: 2013-04-03
Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today';s writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date). The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. =
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Reorganized and revised, the third edition of the MLA Style Manual offers complete, up-to-date guidance on writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
Stylebook 2016 and briefing on media law by
Publication Date: 2013
For news writing. Defines the Associated Press rules for grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, and word and numeral usage, especially for governmental bodies.
U. S. Government Printing Office - Style Manual by
Publication Date: 2009-03-03
Also cited as GPO Style Manual. Issued by the Public Printer under authority of Section 1105 of Title 44, United States Code. Designed to achieve uniform word and type treatment and economy of word use in the form and style of Government printing.
Online Style Guides
For students, we recommend checking with the reference staff at your institution's library for the preferred style guide at your institution or in your field. Many libraries will have a reference list tailored to the local needs.
Spanish Language Style Guides
Spanish Language Style Guide and Glossaries
A resource for government employees, translators, and communications professionals who work with the government to improve the way we communicate with the public in Spanish. The guide contains information on grammar and style issues as well as glossaries to standardize the use of Spanish across government.
The Writer's Reference Guide to Spanish by
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Provides comprehensive information on how the Spanish language is copyedited for publication. The book covers these major areas: Language basics: capitalization, word division, spelling, and punctuation. Language conventions: abbreviations, professional and personal titles, names of organizations, and nationalities. Bibliographic format, particularly how Spanish differs from English. Spanish language forms of classical authors' names. Literary and grammatical terminology. Linguistic terminology. Biblical names and allusions. A dictionary of grammatical doubts, including usage, grammatical constructions of particular words and phrases, verbal irregularities, and gender variations.