Setting up a Library: Home
ALA Library Fact Sheet 16
This fact sheet will provide an overview of resources common to all types of libraries, along with some references for some specific situations. As libraries do tend to grow, it is best to utilize sound library management practices from the outset insofar as possible.
"A library collection should fit the mission for which it is created. The number of books it holds does not determine its worth. A well-selected library of 25 books could very well be an excellent library for its purpose."
-- Erma Jean Loveland
Resources: Books
Establishing a new library, or developing an existing collection of books and other materials into a library, involves several functions: creating the oversight or governance structure, defining the mission and purpose of the organization, securing funding, planning, developing a collection, securing or building an appropriate space, equipping the space, and marketing services. In all cases, planning for the collection should come first. We have assembled a number of resource lists on WorldCat to cover these topics.
-
Library Management WorldCat ListA WorldCat list maintained by the American Library Association with general information on managing a library.
-
Library Fundraising WorldCat ListBooks on fundraising for libraries, grants and grantwriting including technology grants, advocacy, Friends groups, library foundations, planned giving programs, book sales.
-
Library Marketing WorldCat ListSelected titles on general marketing and outreach for libraries
Librarian
ALA Library Resources Relevant to Setting up a Library
-
Implementing Library Technology LibGuideResources supporting the implementation of library automation--circulation, integrated library systems, federated search, discovery services, etc.
-
Building Libraries and Library AdditionsThis fact sheet provides references to the tools, resources, and advice to help you manage your library building project, whether large or small.
-
ALA Library Fact Sheet 24: Library Fund Raising: A Selected Annotated BibliographyThis fact sheet is designed to serve a variety of interests. Whether you are looking to fund a large, one-time project or to form lasting connections with the community at large that will generate future dividends, these sources will be valuable tools.
-
ALA Library Fact Sheet 9: Library Products, Services, and ConsultantsThis fact sheet will help you locate library supply companies and consultants best suited to your library's needs and geographic limitations.
-
Cataloging Tools and Resources LibGuideOverview of standards underlying library cataloging, with links to sources for the tools.
-
Book Donation Programs LibGuideInformation about how to donate books to needy libraries. Also includes resources for those seeking donations.
-
ALA Library Fact Sheet 15: Weeding Library Collections: A Selected Annotated Bibliography for Library Collection EvaluationThis fact sheet provides resources on weeding a collection and creating a collection development policy.
Ebooks
-
Why It’s Difficult For Your Library to Lend EbooksArticle from the Boston Globe that simply defines some issues around ebook lending.