All Nations LibGuide: Librarians
Tribal Librarians and Tribal Libraries
Here is historical insight on Tribal librarianship advocacy and significant outcomes. It also contains scholarship on library services, research needs, library associations and organizations unique to tribal libraries and Indigenous librarians and library workers. There is also a bibliography on advancements in decolonizing library knowledge organization systems to meet the needs of the tribal and extended communities.
Training and Support
-
Trails - Training and Assistance for Indian Library ServicesTRAILS - Tribal Library Procedures Manual
“Training Resources for American Indian Library Services,” or TRAILS, includes resources for starting, running, and advocating for Tribal Libraries. Collaborators: American Library Association, American Indian Library Association, Association of Tribal Libraries, Archives and Museums. -
Guide to Building Support for Your Tribal LibraryTips and tools you can use from the American Library Association: Rural, Native and Tribal Libraries of All Kinds Committee in collaboration with the ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services and The Campaign for America’s Libraries.
1991 Conference on Library and Information Services
-
American Indian Library Association Newsletter 1990The archived newsletter leads with the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) and the Indian Pre-Conference to the White House Conference on Libraries and Information Services rescheduled date from 1990 to 1991.
-
The 1991 White House Conference on Library and Information Services and InformationAn article highlighting the library conference includes early mention of Native American delegates attendance and policy recommendations in literacy and improving productivity, among others.
U.S., Associations
-
American Indian Library Association (AILA)Improving Library and Information Services for American Indians., Founded in 1979. "The definition of a tribal library varies across the U.S. The history and timeline of many tribal community libraries, archives, and cultural centers (museums) can somewhat be tracked through a handful of publications. However, as print resources become out of date, the need arises for an online central directory to keep the most up to date information on these tribal institutions. By creating this online educational resource map, we aim to help share the history of the American Indian Library Association (AILA) and tribal libraries, archives, and museums (TLAMs) across the country."
-
Tribal College Librarians Institute (TCLI)Since 1988, Montana State University Library has provided professional development for Tribal College Libraries, beginning with local support to an international institute with participants from the U.S., Canada, Australia and New Zealand.
-
Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries and Museums (ATALM)ATALM is an international non-profit organization that maintains a network of support for Indigenous programs, provides culturally relevant programming and services, encourages collaboration among tribal and non-tribal cultural institutions, and articulates contemporary issues related to developing and sustaining the cultural sovereignty of Native Nations."
Bibliographies
ALA. (2002). Indigenous Librariaship: A Global Perspective: 202 Jean E. Coleman Library Outreach Lecture by Lotsee Patterson. American Library Association. https://www.ala.org/aboutala/offices/olos/olosprograms/jeanecoleman/02patterson
Brown, K. (2019). Creating Culturally Safe Learning Spaces and Indigenizing Higher Education. Journal of Learning Spaces, 8(2). EJ1229464.pdf
Cherry, A., & Mukunda, K. (2015). A Case Study in Indigenous Classification: Revisiting and Reviving the Brian Deer Scheme. Cataloging & Classification Quarterly, 53(5–6), 548–567. https://doi.org/10.1080/01639374.2015.1008717
Cornelius, Carrie E., Morris, Sara E., Orozco, Rebecca A., & Peper, Michael T. (2019). Research Support Services for the Field of Indigenous Studies. https://hdl.handle.net/1808/27712
Deloria, V. (1978). The Right to Know: a paper/prepared for the White House Pre-Conference on Indian Library and Information Services On or Near Reservations. [Paper]. Washington: Office of Library and Information Services, U.S. Department of the Interior. opac.nwic.edu/eg/opac/record/37135
Lee, D. (2017). Indigenous Librarians: Knowledge Keepers in the 21st Century. Canadian Journal of Native Studies, 37(1), pp. 175-199. https://harvest.usask.ca/items/64919a62-70d4-45e0-bf05-70ecd5bb60ae
Patterson, L. (2000). History and Status of Native Americans in Librarianship. Library Trends, 49(1), Summer, p. 182-193 https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/4817665.pdf
Littletree, S., Belarde-Lewis, M., & Duarte, M. (2020). Centering relationality: A conceptual model to advance indigenous knowledge organization practices. Knowledge Organization, 47(5), 410-426. https://doi.org/10.5771/0943-7444-2020-5-410 ko_47_2020_5_e - Sandy Littletree.pdf
Littletree, S. (2018). “Let me tell you about Indian Libraries”: Self Determination, Leadership, and Vision–The Basis of Tribal Library Development in the United States [Doctoral Dissertation]. Information School, Washington]. Littletree_washington_0250E_18476.pdf
Littletree, S., & Metoyer, C. A. (2015). Knowledge Organization from an Indigenous Perspective: The Mashantucket Pequot Thesaurus of American Indian Terminology Project. Cataloging &Classification Quarterly, 53(5–6), 640–657. https://doi.org/10.1080/01639374.2015.1010113
Metoyer, C. A., & Doyle, A. M. (2015). Introduction. Cataloging & Classification Quarterly, 53(5–6), 475–478. https://doi.org/10.1080/01639374.2015.1027984
Metoyer-Duran, C. (1992). Native American Library and Information Services. Government Information Quarterly, 9(3), pp. 359-362. https://doi.org/10.1016/0740-624X(92)90012-
Roy, L. (2007). Indigenous Libraries and Innovative Multicultural Services. School of Information, The University of Texas at Austin, TX. IFLA-keynote-lorieneroy.pdf
Roy, L. (2013). Library Services to Indigenous Populations: Case Studies. International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA). Indigenous-librarianship-2013.pdf
National Library Associations: Indigenous Leadership
Cindy Hohl, MBA, MLIS, Dakota of the Santee Sioux Nation, Director of Policy Analysis and Operational Support, Kansas City Public Libraries (KCPL)
- 2024-2025 President, American Library Association
- 2020-2021 President, American Indian Library Association
- Cindy For ALA President 2024-25, Cindy Hohl, Kansas City Public Library
- Cindy Hohl, President-Elect 2024-2025 American Libraries Magazine Featured Articles
Dr. Loriene Roy, Ph.D., Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, Enrolled: White Earth Reservation, Distinguished Leadership Service Professor Emerita, The University of Texas Austin
- 2007-2008 President, American Library Association
- 1997-1998 President, American Indian Library Association
- Dr. Loriene Roy - The University of Texas at Austin
- Dr. Loriene Roy, Other Research and Writing
Dr. Lotsee Patterson, Ph.D., Enrolled: Comanche Nation, Professor Emeritus, The University of Oklahoma
- Founder of the American Indian Library Association, 1979
- Co-Chair of the Native American Pre-Conference, 1991 White House Conference on Libraries and Information Services
- An interview with Dr. Lotsee Patterson, a founding member of AILA - American Indian Library Association (2015)
- Interview with Lotsee Patterson, Library of Congress (2017)
International Associations
-
International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA)The Federation is an independent, international, non-governmental, not-for-profit, public benefit organization which advances the interests of library and information associations, libraries and information services, librarians and the communities they serve throughout the world.
-
e Rōpū Whakahau (New Zealand) Māori Library & Information Workers Association.Te Rōpū Whakahau Incorporated, number: 804300 was established as an Incorporated Society on 27 August 1996.
-
Library and Information Association of New Zealand (LIANZA)LIANXA's history of achievements in a timeline beginning in the year 1910.
-
Australian Society of Archivists Indigenous Issues GroupThe Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Special Interest Group was established in 1998. The SIG holds regular meetings at the ASA National Conference.
-
Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries and Museums (ATALM)ATALM is an international non-profit organization that maintains a network of support for Indigenous programs, provides culturally relevant programming and services, encourages collaboration among tribal and non-tribal cultural institutions, and articulates contemporary issues related to developing and sustaining the cultural sovereignty of Native Nations."