The periodicals listed on this page are no longer in publication. Where possible, a link to the ALA Institutional Repository (ALAIR) or physical location at the ALA Archives at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is listed.
African American Studies Librarians Section (AFAS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Due to a change in the membership requirement for an ALA Section, AFAS transitioned into the African American Studies Librarians Interest Group (AASLIG) in 2016.
An official publication of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS). Free and openly available to anyone with access to the Web. Publication ceased when ALCTS became a part of Core in 2020.
A free, bimonthly newsletter that helped Booklist subscribers stay updated on trends in YA literature through a mix of original feature articles and selected Booklist reviews of notable YA titles, as well as offering informative, entertaining, and often edgy commentary on the YA scene.
E-newsletter with links to the full text of reviews and features published exclusively on Booklist Online. Included all web-exclusive content published on Booklist Online during the previous calendar month.
Emailed four times per year to Booklist subscribers between 2014 and 2019. Previous Top Shelf Reference feature "Professional Reading Roundup" incorporated into Booklist Online's Corner Shelf newsletter.
A publication for and about the Chapters of the American Library Association, including messages from the Chapter Relations Committee Chair, information about conference programming, updates about the Chapter Relations Office, workshop and institute opportunities, and advocacy for ALA chapters.
Newsletter of the Education Information Project, which promotes adult education and career counseling at public libraries and is supported by a grant from W.K. Kellogg Foundation. The newsletter includes feature articles on issues in Education Information Centers work, field reports, conference information, and a question-and-answer column.
This was the official publication of the Junior Members Round Table (now called New Members Round Table). News Notes ran from 1966-1971, then became Footnotes - the current official publication of the New Members Round Table.
Merged with "Serial Slants" to become Library Resources and Technical Services in 1957. Issues of Library Resources and Technical Services have been digitized and are housed on the online ALA Institutional Repository (ALAIR): https://alair.ala.org/handle/11213/8709.
Financially supported by a grant from the Carnegie Corporation and was under the editorship of Vernon Tate, contains articles, includes microphotography, film and photocopy techniques, equipment, supplies, preservation methods, copyright, inter-library loan, standards, applications (for individuals, institutions, companies, and governments), and select bibliographies.
Journal of Library Automation (JOLA) was published from 1968 through 1981 (volumes 1 through 14) by the Library and Information Technology Association (now a part of Core), and its precursor the Information Science and Automation Division. It was succeeded by Information Technology and Libraries (ITAL) which began publication in 1982.
The Journal of Youth Services in Libraries (JOYS) was a quarterly published jointly by the Association for Library Services to Children and Young Adult Services Division and contains news, notes, book reviews, and articles on children's book awards and library services to preschoolers through adolescents.
News blog from the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA), now a part of ALA Core. Featured LLAMA news and information of interest to members, including awards, conferences and other resources.
Newsletter of the Library Education Division (dissolved in 1978 to form the ALA Committee on Education), including including reports concerning programs, meetings, conferences and committee activity, LED annual reports and Board actions and articles on publication and local events.
A digest of library legislation, court decisions, attorneys general opinions and administrative rulings of the several states and possessions, collected by members of the Library Legislation Committee (now the ALA Committee on Legislation).
The Gazette ran from 1959 to 1963. At this point, it was stated that "since a revised edition of American Library Laws will appear later this year and will include provision for periodic supplements," there was no need to duplicate the service.
A publication of the Joint Committee on Library Service to Labor Groups, Adult Services Division (now the Reference & User Services Association) containing studies of libraries giving special service to labor groups; bibliographies of publications about labor concerns, e.g. health and welfare, employment, benefits, wages, unions, industrial relations, labor history, labor and government; community and consumer services; labor librarianship and education ; AFL-CIO and ALA news and reports; reports of other organizations' roles in labor; library and education activities; and Library Service to Labor Groups joint committee Minutes and reports.
Published by ALA TechSource between January 2001 and December 2022. Helped librarians make informed decisions about technology projects and purchases, with reports that addressed application of technology to library services, offered evaluative descriptions of specific products or product classes, or covered emerging technology.
Newsletter of the Education Information Project, which promoted adult education and career counseling at public libraries and was supported by a grant from W.K. Kellogg Foundation. The newsletter included feature articles on issues in Education Information Centers work, field reports, conference information, and a question-and-answer column.
From the Map & Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT), a multi-disciplinary, scholarly journal devoted to the study of the design, production, use, storage and retrieval, and history of information recorded in the cartographic format.
The newsletter of the Round Table on Library Services for the Blind containing information on publications and membership lists. The RTLSB Newsletter came out only once in 1962, before being superseded by News and Views (1967).
Published by the ALA Intellectual Freedom Committee (IFC), covering attempts to remove materials from school and library shelves across the country, and the latest information on intellectual freedom issues. Superseded by the Journal of Intellectual Freedom & Privacy in 2015.
Published bi-monthly from 1952-2015, and became an all-digital publication in 2012. Digital born copies of the Newsletter on Intellectual Freedom (2002-2015), along with indexes for years 1952-1985, are available in the ALA Institutional Repository. Archived copies of the newsletter from 1952-1985 are housed at the ALA Archives.
Newsletter of the Committee for Recruitment, a quarterly report from the ALA Office for Recruitment (part of the former Library Personnel Resources Office, now Human Resource Development and Recruitment).
The bulletin of the Reprint Expediting Service (1955-1990). The Service provided a recognized channel through which libraries could notify publishers of their reprinting needs so that publishers could secure information to gauge probable sale of reprints.
A serial intended for serial enthusiasts. This serial was proposed at the Mid-winter meeting of the Serials Round Table of the A.L.A. (which later became part of the Serials Section of ALCTS). It was published from 1950-1956.
Newsletter of the Slavic and East European Section (SEES) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Published annually, 1985-2018, with reporting on section activities and on relevant activities in the field of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian librarianship.
ISSN 0897-6465 (print), ISSN 2163-9086 (online). ACRL Slavic & East European Section (SEES) and ACRL Western European Studies Section (WESS) merged to form European Studies Section (ESS) on September 1, 2017. Print copies of the ESS Newsletter are housed at the ALA Archive, and a digital archive can be found on the ESS website.
The SORT (Staff Organizations Round Table) Bulletin, a semi-annual publication concerning the organization, news and activities of staff associations in member libraries; news and surveys of personnel issues in libraries and other ALA units (e.g., faculty status, leaves, pension plans, salaries, recruiting and sick leave); collective bargaining and unions; annual and midwinter SORT program reports and minutes; the SORT constitution and staff organizations' constitutions.
Published jointly by the Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC) and Young Adult Services Division (YALSA) from 1937 to 1987. Contained news, notes, book lists, and articles on children's library services to adolescents.
Newsletter of the University Libraries Section (ULS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), to distribute information and news to ULS members. Regular columns included member profiles, News from the ULS Universe, Conference Circuit, and In Case You Missed it. Retired in September 2017, superseded by the ULS Universe blog .
ISSN 0734-4503. Published twice a year, 1975-2020. ACRL Slavic & East European Section (SEES) and ACRL Western European Studies Section (WESS) merged to form the European Studies Section (ESS) on September 1, 2017. Print copies of the WESS Newsletter are housed at the ALA Archives, and a digital archive can be found on the ESS website.