American Library Association Periodicals: Index of Titles

Official publication of the American Library Association's Map and Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT), to provide current information on cartographic materials, other publications of interest to map and geography librarians, meetings, related governmental activities, and map librarianship.
Published electronically six times a year: February, April, June, August, October, and December.

Online publication produced twice a year (Fall and Spring issues) by the Literatures in English Section (LES) of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL). Includes articles and features of interest to librarians who work with literatures in English.

ALA's integrated print/online book-review magazine for collection development and readers’ advisory. Subscription includes 22 Booklist and 4 Book Links supplement print issues, plus 24/7 password-enabled access to Booklist Online. Published twice monthly September through June and monthly (one issue) in July and August.

Where Readers' Advisory meets Collection Development. This free bimonthly newsletter addresses trends, ideas, and issues in the two areas, helping librarians find the common ground between them.

A newsletter that delivers easy, practical ideas and activities that help integrate children's and young-adult books into the curriculum. 12 newsletters per year.

Free e-newsletter that shares links to Booklist's most interesting book reviews and articles. Also alerts you that the latest issue of Booklist has been published on Booklist Online—and mails before print subscribers receive their copy of the magazine. Approximately 20 newsletters per year.

A sharable, patron–facing digital magazine, featuring diverse readers' advisory recommendations, for readers and listeners of all ages. Filled with high-interest, themed lists that showcase books patrons can read and check out now.

The Newsletter of the ACRL Chapters Council of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Published two times a year (Spring and Fall).

Official, refereed journal of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC). Published quarterly.

A publishing unit of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), which supports the work and professional development of academic librarians. Published monthly. Offers approximately 350 reviews every month, identifying the best new books and digital content in academia.

Online access to comprehensive archive of Choice reviews and editorial content from Choice magazine.

Community and Junior College Libraries Section (CJCLS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Published twice a year (Fall and Spring issues).

Newsletter of the College Libraries Section (CLS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Published twice a year (Fall and Spring issues).

Daily paper of the ALA Midwinter Meeting and ALA Annual Conference. Published five times annually in conjunction with the ALA Midwinter Meeting, and six times annually in conjunction with the ALA Annual Conference.

Official scholarly research journal of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). An open access journal published bimonthly.

College & Research Libraries News (C&RL News) is the official newsmagazine and publication of record of the Association of College & Research Libraries, providing articles on the latest trends and practices affecting academic and research libraries.
Published monthly except joint July/August issue.

The official publication of the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) of ALA. DttP features articles on local, state, national, and international government information, government activities, and documents the professional activities of GODORT. DttP is published quarterly in spring, summer, fall, and winter.

Newsletter of the Education and Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Published electronically twice a year (Fall and Spring issues).

The peer-reviewed, scholarly publication of the ALA New Members Round Table. The purpose of Endnotes is to provide support for LIS students and librarians who want or need to publish scholarly articles and to publish peer-reviewed research directed at new librarians.

Newsletter of the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL). Published 2 time per year.

Published by the ALA Intellectual Freedom Round Table since 1973, this annual report outlines the discussions, planning, and accomplishments of IFRT leadership and volunteers.

Information Technology and Libraries (ITAL) is a refereed journal published quarterly by Core (formerly published by ALA Library & Information Technology Association).
Published quarterly, with topic areas that include but are not limited to library automation, digital libraries, metadata, identity management, distributed systems and networks, computer security, intellectual property rights, technical standards, geographic information systems, desktop applications, information discovery tools, web-scale library services, cloud computing, digital preservation, data curation, virtualization, search-engine optimization, emerging technologies, social networking, open data, the semantic web, mobile services and applications, usability, universal access to technology, library consortia, vendor relations, and digital humanities.

Newsletter of the Instruction Section (IS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Published electronically twice a year (Fall and Spring issues).

The official e-newsletter of the Association of Specialized, Government and Cooperative Library Agencies with all the news and information about ASGCLA activities and its members. No longer updated as of summer 2017 issue. ASGCLA dissolved as an ALA division in September 2020.

Official publication of the International Relations Round Table (IRRT), which disseminates information about international librarianship and activities of the IRRT. Published quarterly, in March, June, September, and December.

The official journal of the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF). JIFP is a double-blind peer reviewed publication, topically focused on practical, moral, ethical, philosophical, and theoretical issues of intellectual freedom and informational privacy within the United States and globally. Published quarterly.

The Journal of Research on Libraries and Young Adults is an open-access, peer-reviewed online research journal published by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA). Its purpose is to enhance the development of theory, research, and practices to support young adult library services, as emphasized in’ YALSA’s National Research Agenda. Publishes approximately three times per year.

Published by the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), and devoted to offering substantive information to assist building-level school librarians, supervisors, library educators, and other decision makers concerned with the development of school libraries and school library services. Articles address the integration of theory and practice in school librarianship and new developments in education, learning theory, and relevant disciplines.
Published bimonthly, September through June.

Official publication of the ALA Learning Round Table (LearnRT). Published quarterly. Distributed to all LearnRT members as part of membership.

LHRT News and Notes, the blog of the ALA Library History Round Table (LHRT). Includes news about the LHRT conferences, calls for papers, award announcements, and other items of interest from the world of library history. Also features “notes”—informal essays about the people, themes, technologies, and collections in the history of libraries.

A journal of the ALA CORE: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures. Focuses on assisting library administrators and managers at all levels as they deal with day-to-day challenges. LL&M is a hybrid journal with a mix of peer-reviewed articles and editor-reviewed items that are less formal and more practical in nature. Also offers regular features that touch on issues and trends in the profession. The journal is open access and published quarterly.

A peer-reviewed publication of Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures, that takes a critical approach to the questions and challenges facing librarians and libraries with regard to collections, scholarly communication, preservation (including digitization), acquisitions (including licensing and economic aspects of acquisitions), continuing resources, and cataloging (including descriptive metadata, authority control, subject analysis, and classification). Also includes editorials, book reviews, letters to the editor, and the annual report of the president of Core. Published quarterly.

Library Worklife: HR E-News for Today’s Leaders is a publication of the American Library Association-Allied Professional Association (ALA-APA). Informs readers about issues – career advancement, certification, human resources practice, pay equity, recruitment, research, work/life balance – that concern all library workers. Distributed electronically on the second Tuesday of each month.

Non-refereed journal of the Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT). Exists primarily to inform members about activities of the roundtable, and also features articles on library instruction in any library setting-public, school, academic or special. Published quarterly.

Publication of the ALA Library Support Staff Interests Round Table (LSSIRT). Published 3-4 times a year.

Blog of the ALA New Members Round Table (NMRT), providing topics of interest to new members of ALA and early career librarians.

Publication of the Politics, Policy, and International Relations Section (PPRS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), formerly the Law and Political Science Section (LPSS).

Online newsletter of the ALA Officer for Accreditation, including up-to-date information on ALA-accredited programs, news and announcements, and reports from the ALA Committee on Accreditation (COA). Published twice a year.

The official journal of the Public Library Association (PLA) and the only ALA journal devoted exclusively to public libraries, with important industry news, PLA and ALA updates, and columns and feature articles. Published six times a year.

Companion website to the bi-monthly print publication Public Libraries, the official magazine of the Public Library Association (PLA). In addition to featuring three full articles from each issue of the printed edition, it also features unique content and allows online interaction through comments and social media sharing.

The official news blog of the ALA Rainbow Round Table (RRT) - formerly the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT).

A journal of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), covering issues pertaining to special collections libraries and cultural heritage institutions. Formerly published as Rare Books and Manuscripts Librarianship (RBML). An open access publication published twice a year. Print issue sent to members of the ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts only if they subscribe.

A weekly wrap-up from the ALA Center for the Future of Libraries, with news and articles that indicate possible trends and changes that could affect libraries and the communities we serve.

Official journal of the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA). Its purpose is to disseminate information of interest to reference librarians, information specialists, and other professionals involved in user-oriented library services. Open access, published quarterly.

Official news blog from the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA).

Scholarly, refereed research journal of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), which promotes and publishes high quality original research concerning the management, implementation, and evaluation of school library programs. The journal also emphasizes research on instructional theory, teaching methods, and critical issues relevant to school libraries and school librarians.

Current news and events from the ALA Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT). Published quarterly. Sent to SRRT members as part of membership.

Newsletter of the ALA Science & Technology Section (STS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL). Newsletter reports on section activity at ALA conference, highlights council meetings, publishes committee reports and assignments, and provides program announcements. Published electronically twice a year. Sent to STS members as part of membership.

Newsletter of the Women & Gender Studies Section (WGSS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), published electronically twice yearly.

The official journal of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA). Serves primarily as a vehicle for continuing education for librarians serving young adults, ages twelve through eighteen. Published quarterly. Sent to all YALSA members as part of membership.