Library Policy Development: Bibliography

A collection of sample policies, forms, and procedures for the college or university environment. This new handbook and CD-ROM package is divided into three parts -- Student and Faculty Services, Administrative Policies, and Collection Maintenance.

It is the first ClipNote to use excerpts, many of which are hyperlinked, from more than 60 libraries. For each collection development policy element, the ClipNote provides examples of not only traditional policy language but also examples of unique, forward thinking or strategic language.

This CLIP Note has been developed to serve as a resource for those who create or update academic library and campus copyright policies. It offers a compilation of copyright policies in use at college and university libraries. It provides information on policy content, copyright monitoring, and educating on copyright. This collection of selected copyright policies, covering a range of print and digital resources, will assist library and campus personnel with their own work.

If policies are nonexistent, outdated, and no one knows what they are, your library may be experiencing policy chaos. To avoid potential legal liabilities, confusion, lost opportunities and tensions among management, employees, customers, and the community at large, the answer is to create current, customized policies geared to your library.

Examines collection development in the context of today's shifts toward digital resources while emphasizing the foundational beliefs of the school library profession. Writer Sue Kimmel includes practical advice about needs assessment, planning, selection, acquisitions, evaluation, and continuous improvement for collections to support 21st-century standards.

Your policy manual is the key to your library, and directors need not reinvent the wheel thanks to this new guide. Whether you're part of a 2 person public library or a large research university -- you will find answers in every chapter.

What one person considers enlightening and informative, another may find offensive; librarians are often caught in the middle. How does one balance community dynamics with national perspectives and political realities? This book attempts to answer this question.

An all-in-one handbook public library managers can use to update policies and procedures, design new forms - or even compile a new manual from scratch. This guide includes more than 300 forms, policies and procedures from 114 public libraries with a diverse range of budgets and staff.

Whether you are considering adding new services and want good policies, or you already have expanded service and would like to see if another library has a better solution to problems you encounter each day, this book is for you. Reference service is the lifeblood of your library and in order to be effective you must have a structure in place with the ability to change and adapt to growing needs and new technology.

In one detailed multimedia source, you'll find everything you need to evaluate your library's current policies and procedures, and suggestions to help you develop new ones in today's more complex digital content environment.