Sustainability and Libraries: Selected Bibliography
Bibliography on Sustainability in Libraries
This collection includes monograph titles to help libraries learn more about the history and basic concepts of sustainability, applying sustainability principles in their libraries, and the crucial role that libraries can play in helping their communities learn the principles of sustainability and prepare for the effects of climate change. This collection emphasizes resources specific to the library community, and provides information on curriculum development, collections, exhibits, events, advocacy, communication, and library buildings and space design.
For a more exhaustive list of books, articles, presentations, websites, blogs, projects and more that fall under the umbrella of sustainable libraries, see the ALA Sustainability Round Table (SustainRT) Zotero library.
ALA Publications
Ecology, Economy, Equity: The Path to a Carbon-Neutral Library by Call Number: Z679.85 .H46 2014ISBN: 9780838912171Publication Date: 2014-07-01In the first book to seriously examine the future of libraries in a climate reality-based context, Henk convincingly argues that building a carbon-neutral future for libraries is not only essential but eminently practical. Using the “three E’s” of sustainability (ecology, economy, equity) as a foundation, she traces the development of sustainability from its origins in the 1970s to the present, laying out a path librarians can take at their own institutions to begin the process of building a carbon-neutral library.
Exploring Environmental Science with Children and Teens by Call Number: Z718.3 .H37 2014ISBN: 9780838911983Publication Date: 2014-04-08Despite the abundance of resources on the subject, in the classroom science often takes a back seat to the study of math and English. That gives public and school libraries as well as museums the opportunity to jump in as venues for informal education, sharing the wonders of science with children and their caregivers. In this book Harrington focuses on environmental science, offering a selection of unique programming ideas that not only entertain but also arm children and teens with information about environmental issues.
Libraries and Gardens by Call Number: Z716.4 .B26 2019ISBN: 9780838918555Publication Date: 2019-03-22Citing examples of library gardens around the world that are thriving, this first-ever book on the subject not only demonstrates the many benefits of library gardens but also provides a complete overview of issues applicable to all library types and geographical environments.
Libraries and Sustainability: Programs and Practices for Community Impact by Call Number: Z679.85 .L53 2022ISBN: 9780838937945Publication Date: 2021-11-08Library workers at all types of organizations, as well as LIS students learning about this newest Core Value of Librarianship, will find this book an easy-to-digest introduction to what staff at a range of libraries have accomplished in incorporating sustainability into their decision making and professional practices. In addition, a discussion about the role of economics and sustainability will challenge readers to stretch in new ways to positively impact their communities.
Public Libraries Going Green by Call Number: Z679.85 .M55 2010ISBN: 9780838910184Publication Date: 2010-04-09Going green is now a national issue, and patrons expect their library to respond in the same way many corporations have. Libraries are going green with logos on their Web sites, programs for the public, and a host of other initiatives. This guide will serve as a quick reference source for going green in your library.
Public Libraries and Resilient Cities by Call Number: Z716.2 .P82 2013ISBN: 9780838911365Publication Date: 2012-10-14Public libraries are keystone public institutions for any thriving community, and as such can be leaders in making cities better places to work, play, and live. In this book, urban planner and librarian Dudley shows how public libraries can contribute to "placemaking," or the creation and nurturing of vital and unique communities for their residents.
Resilience (Library Futures Series, Book 2) by Call Number: Z716.4 .A445 2018ISBN: 9780838916346Publication Date: 2018-06-07Resilience (or resiliency) incorporates preparations for and rapid recovery from physical, social, and economic disruptions, including environmental disasters, terrorist attacks, or economic collapse.
Start a Revolution: Stop Acting Like a Library by Call Number: Z716.3 .B57 2015ISBN: 9780838912676Publication Date: 2014-12-11At the Craighead County Jonesboro Public Library in Arkansas, Bizzle and his colleagues defied common practices by using creative risk-taking in marketing and outreach to transform their library into a dynamic institution that continues to grow and thrive. Here they recount their story, sharing techniques for success alongside a provocative marketing philosophy that will spur libraries to move beyond their comfort zone.
The Sustainable Library's Cookbook by ISBN: 9780838946589Publication Date: 2019In 2019, the American Library Association added sustainability to its Core Values of Librarianship to foster community awareness and engagement on climate change, resilience, environmental impact, and a sustainable future. The Sustainable Library’s Cookbook collects a series of engaging activities for academic libraries interested in implementing sustainability practices.
Sustainable Thinking: Ensuring Your Library's Future in an Uncertain World by Call Number: Z716.4 .A445 2018ISBN: 9780838916889Publication Date: 2018-01-29How we talk about what we do is just as important as what we do, and in communicating the value of libraries to our society what our profession needs is confidence, determination, and the will to succeed. In this inspiring and pragmatic new book, Aldrich shows that the first step towards a sustainable library is sustainable thinking: a determined yet realistic attitude that will help your library spot opportunities for institutional advancement, advocate for and safeguard operating funds, and generate intense loyalty from the communities you serve.
Tactical Urbanism for Librarians: Quick, Low-Cost Ways to Make Big Changes by Call Number: Z678 .M96 2017ISBN: 9780838915585Publication Date: 2017-05-19Tactical urbanism, a global grassroots movement to improve cities by and for the people who live in them, has applications that are tailor made for libraries. Tactics like "start small," "value intangibles," and "bundle pragmatics with delight" can help libraries engage with their users while also solving immediate problems. Here, Munro offers plentiful examples from cities and libraries that show where tactical urbanism is happening now and making a difference.
Other Publications
Creating the Sustainable Public Library: The Triple Bottom Line Approach by Call Number: Z678 .S478 2018ISBN: 9781440857027Publication Date: 2018-03-15Transform any public library into a truly sustainable organization--not just environmentally sustainable, but economically and socially sustainable as well--by following the directions and practices described in this book. This book is a powerful tool that public librarians, library directors, and library managers can use to create a Triple Bottom Line (TBL) sustainable library, to lead sustainability initiatives in their community, and to identify and adjust their current practices that are considered sustainable to improve performance.
Going Green: Implementing Sustainable Strategies in Libraries Around the World by Call Number: Z679.85 .G65 2018ISBN: 9783110605846Publication Date: 2018-10-08This publication examines aspects of reducing the ecological footprint in libraries' workaday operations as well as the social role and responsibility of libraries as leaders in environmental sustainability. The theoretical background and practical applications of contributions made by worldwide libraries to the United Nations 2030 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are discussed.
Greening Libraries by Call Number: Z716.4 .G75 2012ISBN: 9781936117086Publication Date: 2012-06-01It is difficult to turn on the television or read a news story today without learning about how green and sustainable practices are being implemented throughout society. Libraries are not exempt from these broader trends. In some cases, libraries and librarians have been at the forefront of these efforts. Greening Libraries provides library professionals with a collection of articles and papers that serve as a portal to understanding a wide range of green and sustainable practices within libraries and the library profession.
The Green Library - Die Grüne Bibliothek by Call Number: Z679.85 .G74 2013ISBN: 9783110309270Publication Date: 2013-07-22Contributions and case studies from Germany and other European countries, as well as from Asia, Australia and the US, demonstrate different aspects of reducing the "ecological footprint" in libraries.
How Green Is My Library? by Call Number: Z679.85 .M38 2010ISBN: 9781591587804Publication Date: 2009-12-22While there is a broad spectrum of ecological sophistication within libraries nationwide and some regions are at the forefront of sustainable of sustainable design and operations, others are just beginning or have yet to integrate materials recycling into their daily practice. This resource will provide novice to intermediate ecological sophisticates with tools to evaluate the greenness of their existing or planned facilities and operations.
Palaces for the People: How Social Infrastructure Can Help Fight Inequality, Polarization, and the Decline of Civic Life by Call Number: HC79.C3 K55 2019ISBN: 9781524761165Publication Date: 2018-09-11Klinenberg believes that the future of democratic societies rests not simply on shared values but on shared spaces: the libraries, childcare centers, churches, and parks where crucial connections are formed. Interweaving his own research with examples from around the globe, Klinenberg shows how "social infrastructure" is helping to solve some of our most pressing societal challenges.
