Implementing Library Technology: Home

Libraries have begun a transformation from physical materials to electronic media, and the so-called next-generation catalog is emerging before our eyes. This issue analyzes five different academic libraries to better understand their investments, detailing the outcome thus far and drawing conclusions about the next-generation catalog.

Just as important as proposing and adding new services is the sometimes unpleasant process of critically examining existing realities and letting go of obsolete or less useful programs. But instead of panicking about budgetary and staffing challenges, libraries can choose a measured, proactive response.

For four years, Breeding conducted an online survey to measure satisfaction with multiple aspects of the automation products used by libraries. The survey data have been extended with additional fields that provide the opportunity to separate the findings into categories that show some interesting trends not otherwise apparent.

The genre of library services platforms helps libraries manage their collection materials and automate many aspects of their operations by addressing a wider range of resources and taking advantage of current technology architectures compared to the integrated library systems that have previously dominated. This issue of Library Technology Reports explores this new category of library software, including its functional and technical characteristics.

The prospect of a new automation system can be daunting. Knowing the options is key to arriving at the best answers for your own organization.

Detailed instructions and checklists to help with the process of transferring data from one library system to a new one, including both bibliographic, holdings, and patron data.

A one-stop overview of all technologies used in libraries today. Its coverage includes advice on how to compare and evaluate competing technology solutions; mobile devices and technology, social media, streaming media, and privacy; makerspaces and other technology programing; updated content on open source catalog systems, discovery layers, and related elements of library management systems; a new section on learning management systems (LMS); websites, web-based services, and free information resources.

Learn how to give your users access to a wide selection of print and electronic content with this jargon-free, step-by-step guide.

Libraries have a long tradition of taking extraordinary measures to ensure the privacy of those who use their facilities and access their materials. And since most libraries offer considerable content and services through the web, the extent to which a patron’s use of these services might be vulnerable to exposure stands out as a topic of critical interest. Having surveyed vendors, large public libraries, and Association of Research Libraries (ARL) member institutions, Breeding covers the current state of patron privacy in interacting with the library’s web-based systems.

Implementing and maintaining effective technology services are a perennial challenge for libraries; for small to medium sized libraries, it can be overwhelming. For any librarian wanting a comprehensive overview, Technology Made Simple offers clear answers to overcoming libraries' tech challenges.

This new edition of The Accidental Systems Librarian prepares readers to manage the latest library technologies: mobile devices, open source software, social networks, WiFi, ebooks, and much more.

Created for staff who want to ensure success with a technology project that may consume a significant part of the library's budget, author and IT manager Karen Knox deconstructs an entire project implementation, from planning to evaluation, examining each step.

This book offers what you need to know about selecting and implementing the best integrated library system (ILS) for your library, whether you purchase and install it yourself or hire a consultant to assist you.

Recent advances in technology such as cloud computing, recent industry standards such as RFID, bibliographic standards like RDA and BIBFRAME, the increased adoption of open source integrated library systems (ILS), and continued shift in users' expectations have increased the complexity of the decision regarding ILS for all types of libraries.

Web scale discovery tools index a vast number of resources in a wide variety formats and allow users to search for content in a physical collection, print and electronic journal collections, and other resources from a single search box. Search results are displayed in a manner similar to internet searches, in a relevance-ranked list with links to online content. Implementing Web-Scale Discovery Services: A Practical Guide for Librarians is a one-stop source for librarians seeking to evaluate, purchase, and implement a web-scale discovery service.