Skip to Main Content
Main site homepage

Recommended Reading: Stonewall Book Award

A collection of ALA's literature award winners and various notable reading lists.

image of the stonewall book award sealThe first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.The Stonewall Book Award-Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award is presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date.

2017 Stonewall - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's Literature Award Winner

2017 Stonewall - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Young Adult Literature Award Winner

Stonewall - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's and Young Adult Literature Award honors