Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Security: The Basics and Beyond (webinar)
This webinar will provide the knowledge and skills necessary to manage threatening situations in the library. Discussion will address theoretical concepts, behavior policies, working with local law enforcement both in and out of the library, library banning policies, staff communication tools, and assessment for dangerous behavior. Strategies for avoiding threatening behaviors will be reviewed.
How to respond to a security incident in your library
On June 12, 2014, ALA Editions offered a workshop with Dr. Steve Albrecht, which lasted 90 minutes.
12 Essentials for a Safe and Secure Library
ALA Editions offered a workshop with Warren Graham on June 6, 2012 that lasted 90 minutes.
Guidelines for Library Security
ACRL/RBMS Guidelines Regarding Security and Theft in Special Collections
These guidelines identify important issues that collection administrators should address in developing adequate security measures and a strategy for responding to thefts. While directed primarily toward special collections in the U.S., many topics are also applicable to general collections and to special collections in other countries.
ALA Guidelines for the Development of Policies and Procedures Regarding User Behavior and Library Usage
Libraries are faced with problems of user behavior that must be addressed to ensure the effective delivery of service and full access to facilities. Library governing bodies should approach the regulation of user behavior within the framework of the ALA Code of Ethics, the Library Bill of Rights and the law, including local and state statutes, constitutional standards under the First and Fourteenth Amendments, due process and equal and equitable treatment under the law.
Library Security - Libris DESIGN
Libris DESIGN was a library facility planning information system and downloadable database that was developed for California Public Library planners in 2005. Most helpful for library building purposes was the Libris Design Planning Documentation (via Archive.org), retrieved here via the Internet Archive, which was a set of reports, as DOC and PDF files, covering various interior and exterior library building topics and issues.
Library Security Guidelines
While these “Guidelines” incorporate or recommend industry standards and note best practices, the document does not attempt to establish standards and in no way implies that libraries that do not or cannot adopt the recommendations are in any way negligent.
Map Collection Security Guidelines
These guidelines will allow librarians and curators to better assess their map collections, prepare security proposals for their administrations, and provide a more secure environment for their map collections.
Public access computers in libraries and liability concerns
Interpretation of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) of 1998 amending the U.S. copyright law was Section 512, “limitation on liability relating to material online.” This provision protects online service providers (OSPs) from liability for third party infringement. This means that an online service provider will not be held responsible for the alleged infringements of users of their networks.
Books on Library Safety and Security
Library Security by
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Library work is really all about people, and the inclusive, welcoming nature of the library means that all kinds of people pass through its doors. This book provides advice that will empower library staff in their personal security and give them the tools to confidently communicate with their colleagues, patrons, and members of law enforcement regarding inappropriate behavior.
The Black Belt Librarian by
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
This book demonstrates that libraries can maintain their best traditions of openness and public access by creating an unobtrusive yet effective security plan.
The Library Renovation, Maintenance, and Construction Handbook by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
See Chapter 7: Library Security and Safety in Building Design and Construction, which "examines a variety of threats to safety and security and describes how building design, coupled with staff training, can be used to ameliorate threats to library users, staff, collections, and equipment."
The Library Security and Safety Guide to Prevention, Planning, and Response by
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Libraries need to be open and inviting, yet safe for patrons, staff, and collections. How can you ensure your library is both accessible and secure? Security planning, part of disaster response and continuous operations planning, is the key to proactively addressing potential safety issues.
The Library's Crisis Communications Planner by
Publication Date: 2004-07-01
When emergencies escalate, knowing what to do in advance is the key. Libraries that are equipped with ready contact information, talking points, and spokespeople at hand, are prepared to limit damage from big events or ensure small problems don't escalate.
Defusing the Angry Patron by
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
New technologies for service delivery have ushered in new venues for frustration. To help librarians know how to react in the face of patron anger, 25 coping strategies are described. This book shows how effective staff training and intentional behaviors can positively affect patron behavior, minimize altercations, and ease the stress of public services staff.
Case Studies in Library Security by
Publication Date: 2002-10-17
This book portrays 40 security and safety issues that may arise in libraries. Each case is presented within a fictional but plausible library situation. The case studies are accompanied by discussion questions.