Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Library Association Preservation Policy
Definition of Digital Preservation and the Revised Preservation Policy
The American Library Association’s policy on preservation is based on the Association’s mission to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all. The preservation policy has as its goal, promoting the preservation of our cultural heritage and ensuring access to information in a usable and trustworthy form. ALA affirms that the preservation of library resources protects the public’s right to the free flow of information as embodied in the First Amendment to the Constitution and the Library Bill of Rights.
General Preservation Resources
ALA encourages libraries and other institutions to use Preservation Week to connect our communities through events, activities, and resources that highlight what we can do, individually and together, to preserve our personal and shared collections.
ALCTS Preservation Resources
A collection of guidelines, articles, books, and ALA policies put together by the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS).
The AIC Wiki is sponsored by the American Institute for Conservation of Art and Historic Works with content created by the various AIC Specialty Groups, Networks and Committees. It includes compendia of working knowledge on materials and techniques used to preserve and treat works of art and historic artifacts.
Conservation OnLine (CoOL)
An online resource by and for conservators and related fields, operated by the Foundation of the American Institute for Conservation.
Library Disaster Preparedness & Response - ALA Resource
Putting a plan in place before a disaster strikes, and what to do when disaster does strike.
Lyrasis Preservation Toolbox
The Preservation Toolbox is here to help you find resources for you to care for and effectively manage all materials that make up a library, archive, or other cultural heritage institution collection. Part of getting involved in preservation (or any topic, really) is staying up to date on happenings and news in the field. The resources can help you locate news and educational opportunities in the field.
NEDCC Preservation Leaflets
Northeast Document Conservation Center’s Preservation Services department provides free preservation advice to institutions and individuals worldwide. The Center provides Preservation Leaflets with information on a wide variety of preservation topics and links to additional resources.
Saving Your Treasures
An IMLS-funded resource that runs the preservation gamut from metals to leather to paper. Based on an NET Television program featuring professionals from the Nebraska State Historical Society's Gerald R. Ford Conservation Center and the State Library Commission, this site provides practical and effective methods to help ensure that artifacts, photographs, and documents will survive into the future. There are handouts, instructional videos, and links to other helpful websites.
Supplemental Resources on Preservation
For additional resources on preservation, do a web search for <preservation libguides>.