Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Digitization?
Digitization for preservation is a concept that comes from the traditional field of analog preservation and conservation. In the 1990s a huge number of brittle books and newspapers were microfilmed with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities and other grant programs. The intent was to preserve their information content and to make that content accessible without additional damage to fragile originals, but the effect was to limit access to only the most dedicated researchers. This was followed by a transitional time during which recommended practice included microfilming for preservation and digitizing for access. At this time, although it is still controversial, digitization alone is becoming an accepted approach for all preservation reformatting. The policy of “digitization for preservation” was endorsed by the Association of Research Libraries in July 2004. Digitization for preservation results in digital materials which must themselves be preserved. That is, digitization for preservation results in a need for digital preservation.
Caplan, Priscilla. "Chapter 1: What Is Digital Preservation?" Library Technology Reports 44, no. 2 (February/March 2008): 7.
Books About Digitization
Digitizing Your Collection by
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Digitizing your collection is not only a great way to increase access to your materials, it also engages patrons on a whole new level and helps communicate your library's value. But with staff time and resources already spread thin, it can be a challenge to plan and undertake a digitization initiative.
Digital Curation by
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
An in-depth explanation of the entire digital curation lifecycle, from creation to appraisal to preservation to organization/access to transformation This book outlines the essential concepts and techniques that are crucial to preserving the longevity of digital resources.
Preparing Collections for Digitization by
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Providing digital access to library and archives collections is becoming an increasingly widespread practice, and there is high demand for guidance on the process. This practical guide offers advice for every step of digitizing collections, covering such topics as selecting records, choosing equipment, dealing with damaged documents, and wider issues like the use of surrogates for preservations and the long term sustainability of digital access.
Additional Resources on Digitization
Digitization Guidelines - Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative (FADGI)
This site is a collaborative effort by federal agencies formed as a group in 2007 to define common guidelines, methods, and practices to digitize historical content in a sustainable manner.
Digitizing Hidden Collections in Public Libraries
Libraries no longer need to prove that they should be digitizing their
materials; they just need to find ways to do it. This paper offers an
overview of digitization challenges facing small and medium-sized
libraries, presents options for large-scale digitization projects, and suggests ways to share newly created digital collections.
Minimum Digitization Capture Recommendations
(2013) Guidelines for libraries digitizing content with the objective of producing a sustainable product that will not need to be re-digitized.
Taking a Practical Look at the Google Books Case
As long as the end use of the books was fair, which was deemed to be the case, the initial digitization was not a problem. Looking at this from the perspective of repository manager, this addresses a few of the theoretical and logistical issues behind such a conclusion for libraries.
Techniques for Creating Sustainable Digital Collections
Library Technology Reports 40, no. 5 (September/October 2004), written by Stephen Chapman. Chapman focuses on managerial decisions associated with developing digitization programs-particularly those configured to create sustainable digital collections from printed and photographic source materials.
eBooks on Demand: a European Digitization Service
Within the framework of the European Union funded project Digitization on Demand (2006-2008), the eBooks on Demand service (EOD) is currently available in more than eighteen libraries in ten countries. EOD enables users to order public domain books as PDF eBooks.
WorldCat list - Digital Preservation & Digitization
A collection of resources available through WorldCat.