Preservation: Bibliography

An in-depth explanation of the entire digital curation lifecycle, from creation to appraisal to preservation to organization/access to transformation This book outlines the essential concepts and techniques that are crucial to preserving the longevity of digital resources.

Digitizing your collection is not only a great way to increase access to your materials, it also engages patrons on a whole new level and helps communicate your library's value. But with staff time and resources already spread thin, it can be a challenge to plan and undertake a digitization initiative.

This edited collection brings together global experts to explore the role of information professionals in the transition from an analogue to a digital environment.

Cloonan offers readers an overview of longevity, reversibility, enduring value, and authenticity of information preservation. Each section features historical works that form the basis of contemporary thinking and practices.

Explores the challenges of preserving complex digital objects such as simulations, visualizations, digital art, and video games. Drawing on the outputs of the JISC-funded Preservation of Complex Objects (POCOS) symposia, enhanced with specialist pathfinder solutions, this book covers topics such as the legal and technical challenges of preservation, curation and authority, and digital archaeology.

Access to archival material, the documentary heritage of people all over the world that gives them their identity and ensures their rights, is dependent on the survival of fragile materials: paper, parchment, photographic materials, audiovisual materials and, most recently, magnetic, optical and increasingly digital formats. Archivists in all types of organizations face questions on how to plan a preservation strategy in less than perfect circumstances, or deal with a sudden emergency.

This very practical guide, offering a comprehensive overview of best practice, is aimed at the non-specialist, assuming only a basic understanding of IT and offering guidance as to how to implement strategies with minimal time and resources. Digital preservation has become a critical issue for institutions of all sizes but until recently has mostly been the preserve of national archives and libraries with the resources, time and specialist knowledge available to experiment.

It offers useful tips, common practices, insights, and references to relevant codes and guidelines for the design process.

This book provides a complete guide for anyone looking to build or maintain a cultural heritage web presence. A companion web site provides template downloads and other up-to-date information including links and white papers.

Covering both basic book repair techniques and sound preservation practices, this practical, step-by-step manual offers illustrated sections on cleaning, mending, hinge and spine repair, strengthening paperbacks, and more. Other topics include: wet and water-damaged books; mold and mildew; repair of book linings and pamphlet bindings; using acid-free materials to repair damaged books; lining paper objects; affordable repair tools and supplies, and much more.

Providing digital access to library and archives collections is becoming an increasingly widespread practice, and there is high demand for guidance on the process. This practical guide offers advice for every step of digitizing collections, covering such topics as selecting records, choosing equipment, dealing with damaged documents, and wider issues like the use of surrogates for preservations and the long term sustainability of digital access.

Through ethnographic narratives that place the reader squarely within the scene, Gracy gives readers the context to understand fully the complexities of film archiving work, and what it means to be a member of this profession.

Those responsible for preservation activities, whether project-based or ongoing, often find themselves devoting considerable energy to the "how"-as they prepare budget requests for new activities, evaluate and report on existing operations, and work to improve efficiency and quality in production processes. In order to determine the most appropriate methods for accomplishing a particular task, one needs to understand the work in detail, be able to break it down into its component parts, and enumerate and quantify the resources required. For this reason, those responsible for managing preservation need to know how to analyze work processes and their associated costs.

Memory institutions such as libraries, archives, galleries and museums all share pressing concerns about preserving heritage, whether in the form of material and documentary cultural artefacts in collections, or in the form of new digitally born material. Recent incidents of natural disaster and cultural genocide, together with the global turn to digitization, have forced librarians, archivists and curators to rethink and restructure their primary modes of operation. Preservation management now sits at the top of the agenda for heritage institutions around the world, as collection development policies and practices are negotiated between libraries, museums, archives, funding agencies and governments.

The rise of the Internet and the rapid expansion of electronic information present new challenges for librarians who must acquire, store, organize, preserve, and disseminate this information to their users.

Preservation and disaster expert Kahn brings clear guidance and practical expertise to address libraries' worst cases before they happen. Providing both short- and long-term planning and preservation tips, Kahn provides critical pre-emptive advice to help you.

In this book, two experts show optimal collection preservation techniques, what it takes to set up a conservation work area, and safe ways to mount a small exhibit. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions to repair and conserve books and documents are also included.

A complete guide to developing a library-wide preservation program, The Preservation Program Blueprint will help you to map out a system that is both preventative and curative.

Preservation, according to the editors, must become an integral activity to every library, not just managed by specialists, but understood and supported by all. Discover and explore all aspects of this “technical problem that requires managerial solutions.”

This guide presents information on planning and managing microfilming projects, incorporating co-operative programs, service bureaus and the impact of automation for library staff with deteriorating collections.

This guide is designed to help the acquisition librarian to coordinate a programme which will review materials as they pass through the acquisition process. It provides basic preservation terminology and discusses the role the acquisition librarian plays in the preservation of library collections. The book also encourages acquisition librarians to integrate preservation activities into the acquisition process, and discusses the coordination of acquisition, collection development and preservation functions. It offers scenarios for handling items in poor condition in the acquisition process and concludes with a full reading list.