Financial Literacy in Public Libraries: A Guide for Building Collections: Books

This book, by one of the experts in behavioral finance, explores how life well-being, the overarching aim of individuals in the third generation of behavioral finance, is underpinned by financial well-being, and how life well-being extends beyond financial well-being to family, friendship, religion, health, work, and education. Combining recent scientific findings by scholars in finance, economics, law, medicine, psychology, and sociology with real-life stories at the intersection of finances and life, this book allows readers to clearly see how finances are intertwined with life well-being.

Examines consumption choices and how they relate to life satisfaction. Vanderkam shows how each of us can figure out better ways to use what we have to build the lives we want. Drawing on the latest happiness research as well as the stories of dozens of real people, Vanderkam offers a contrarian approach that forces us to examine our own beliefs, goals, and values.

Explains bad decision-making based on emotions and shows readers how best to think about investment decisions.

The book guides us to know our wants-including hope for riches, protection from poverty, caring for family, sincere social responsibility and high social status. It teaches financial facts and human behavior, including making cognitive and emotional shortcuts and avoiding cognitive and emotional errors such as overconfidence, hindsight, exaggerated fear, and unrealistic hope. And it guides us to banish ignorance, gain knowledge, and increase the ratio of smart to foolish behavior on our way to what we want. These lessons of behavioral finance draw on what we know about us-normal people-including our wants, cognition, and emotions. And they draw on the roles of these factors in saving and spending, portfolio construction, returns we can expect from our investments, and whether we can hope to beat the market.

Happy Money offers a tour of research on the science of spending, explaining how you can get more happiness for your money. Authors Elizabeth Dunn and Michael Norton have outlined five principles—from choosing experiences over stuff to spending money on others—to guide not only individuals looking for financial security, but also companies seeking to create happier employees and provide “happier products” to their customers. Dunn and Norton show how companies from Google to Pepsi to Charmin have put these ideas into action.

Offers a challenge to the traditional model of judgment and decision making. Provides insight on when and when not to trust our intuition when it comes to rationalizing decision.

Engaging the reader in a lively conversation about how we think, Kahneman reveals where we can and cannot trust our intuitions and how we can tap into the benefits of slow thinking. He offers practical and enlightening insights into how choices are made in both our business and our personal lives―and how we can use different techniques to guard against the mental glitches that often get us into trouble.

Financial expert Catey Hill shows moms how to spend less and save big in this savvy guide where each step is designed to take 30 minutes max.

Sometimes, it can seem like saving money is impossible. With everyday expenses, from groceries and gas, to the electric bill and lunch money, as well as those unexpected expenses, like car repairs and medical bills, getting—and keeping—control of your finances can feel overwhelming. With Budgeting 101, you can start saving now. This clear and simple guide provides tons of practical advice for keeping track of your finances.

A bad credit report can prevent you from getting a mortgage, car loan, credit card, apartment, or even a job. The sensible strategies in Credit Repair help you take control of your finances, clean up your credit report and rebuild your credit. Learn how to: prioritize debts and create a budget reduce debts and cut expenses negotiate with creditors correct credit report errors and remove old information add positive information to your credit report adopt strategies to rebuild your credit, and avoid identity theft and credit repair scams. Updates to the 15th edition of Credit Repair include new credit reporting standards for medical debts and revised rules about what debt collectors must include in collection notices.

A plan for reducing debt and tips for improving credit scores. Also helps consumers understand their money personalities, all with a touch of humor.

Budgeting strategies suitable for all income levels, focusing on "financial flexibility" to help you reach your money goals.

Author discusses the types of debt that can build wealth, including student loans and mortgages among others.

A guide based on the tenets of the "You Need a Budget" financial platform/app argues that a well-planned budget can help to prioritize financial goals, reduce stress through strategic cash flow allocations, and meet the challenges of unplanned expenses.

Comprehensive coverage of credit scores, how they work, common myths, dealing with a credit crisis, and protecting your credit.

A consumer-friendly road map for understanding and navigating the secretive world of consumer credit. Davenport reveals where your credit score comes from, how to improve, maintain, or rescue it, and how to avoid hidden credit pitfalls.

An insider looks at how retailers gain and use consumer information.

Examines how market segmentation and big data place consumers at a disadvantage.

Child identity theft is the fastest growing type of identity theft, a crime that affects some 10 million people annually. Here, a veteran law enforcement professional and expert in child identity theft offers parents, educators, law enforcement officials, and others who care for or work with children an inside look at the ways in which children are vulnerable to identity thieves.

An urgent warning of the unprecedented risks that AI and other fast-developing technologies pose to global order and we might contain them while we have the chance--from a co-founder of the pioneering artificial intelligence company DeepMind.

An analysis of flaws in cybersecurity, that allow criminals to access and drain bank accounts and access personal information.

Privacy is disappearing. From our sex lives to our workout routines, the details of our lives once relegated to pen and paper have joined the slipstream of new technology. As a MacArthur fellow and distinguished professor of law at the University of Virginia, acclaimed civil rights advocate Danielle Citron has spent decades working with lawmakers and stakeholders across the globe to protect what she calls intimate privacy--encompassing our bodies, health, gender, and relationships. When intimate privacy becomes data, corporations know exactly when to flash that ad for a new drug or pregnancy test. Social and political forces know how to manipulate what you think and who you trust, leveraging sensitive secrets and deepfake videos to ruin or silence opponents. And as new technologies invite new violations, people have power over one another like never before, from revenge porn to blackmail, attaching life-altering risks to growing up, dating online, or falling in love. A masterful new look at privacy in the twenty-first century, The Fight for Privacy takes the focus off Silicon Valley moguls to investigate the price we pay as technology migrates deeper into every aspect of our lives: entering our bedrooms and our bathrooms and our midnight texts; our relationships with friends, family, lovers, and kids; and even our relationship with ourselves. Drawing on in-depth interviews with victims, activists, and advocates, Citron brings this headline issue home for readers by weaving together visceral stories about the countless ways that corporate and individual violators exploit privacy loopholes.

Examines how companies compile and make money from personal medical records and offers insight for consumers to change this process.

The past decade has brought deep changes in the collection of our private information, the regulation of that collection, and in people's sensitivity to loss of privacy. This thoroughly updated edition demonstrates personal privacy vulnerabilities and shows ways to live a safer, more private life.

People research everything online - shopping, school, jobs, travel - and other people. Your online persona is your new front door. It is likely the first thing that new friends and colleagues learn about you. In the years since this book was first published, the Internet profile and reputation have grown more important in the vital human activities of work, school and relationships. This updated edition explores the various ways that people may use your Internet identity, including the ways bad guys can bully, stalk or steal from you aided by the information they find about you online.

A practical, up-to-date guide to scam-proofing for older adults.

Describes the types of identity theft, how to avoid identity theft, and what to do when victimized. Available in print and eBook formats.

To most of us, it seems like recent developments in artificial intelligence emerged out of nowhere to pose unprecedented threats to humankind. But to Dr. Joy Buolamwini, who has been at the forefront of AI research, this moment has been a long time in the making. After tinkering with robotics as a high school student in Memphis and then developing mobile apps in Zambia as a Fulbright fellow, Buolamwini followed her lifelong passion for computer science, engineering, and art to MIT in 2015. As a graduate student at the "Future Factory," she did groundbreaking research that exposed widespread racial and gender bias in AI services from tech giants across the world. Unmasking AI goes beyond the headlines about existential risks produced by Big Tech.

An illustrated guide to the mad math and terrible terminology of economics, from one of the internet's favorite financial educators. Is our national debt really a threat? What is a "mild" recession, exactly? If you're worried about your bank account balance, job security, or mortgage rate, what data should you be keeping tabs on? The author breaks down everything you need to know about how money and markets really work. This indispensable handbook reveals the hidden forces driving key economic outcomes, the most common myths to steer clear of, and the dusty, outdated assumptions that constrain our political imagination, offering a bold new path to building a prosperous society that works for everyone.

A groundbreaking look at the hidden role of bankruptcy in perpetuating inequality in America, from an expert in the field. Bankruptcy is the busiest federal court in America. In theory, bankruptcy in America exists to cancel or restructure debts for people and companies that have way too many--a safety valve designed to provide a mechanism for restarting lives and businesses when things go wrong financially. In this brilliant and paradigm-shifting book, legal scholar Melissa B. Jacoby shows how bankruptcy has also become an escape hatch for powerful individuals, corporations, and governments, contributing in unseen and poorly understood ways to race, gender, and class inequality in America. Across a broad range of crucial issues, Unjust Debts reveals the hidden mechanisms by which bankruptcy impacts everything from sexual harassment to health care, police violence to employment discrimination, and the opioid crisis to gun violence.

An assessment of the U.S. financial crisis and its lessons.

Examines the culture of risk-taking in the banking industry and proposes changes to reshape bank behavior.

The real story of the 2008 crash began in bizarre feeder markets where the sun doesn't shine and the SEC doesn't dare, or bother, to tread: the bond and real estate derivative markets where geeks invent impenetrable securities to profit from the misery of lower- and middle-class Americans who can't pay their debts. The smart people who understood what was or might be happening were paralyzed by hope and fear; in any case, they weren't talking.

In this lively history of consumer debt in America, economic historian Louis Hyman demonstrates that today's problems are not as new as we think. Borrow examines how the rise of consumer borrowing virtually unknown before the twentieth century has altered our culture and economy. Starting in the years before the Great Depression, increased access to money raised living standards but also introduced unforeseen risks. As lending grew more and more profitable, it displaced funds available for business borrowing, setting our economy on an unsustainable course.

This book examines the economic, psychological, sociological, historical, and legal traditions behind the demand, supply, institutions, and regulation of consumer credit in today's marketplace and how and why they have evolved.

In The Curse of Cash, acclaimed economist and bestselling author Kenneth Rogoff explores the past, present, and future of currency, showing why, contrary to conventional economic wisdom, the regulation of paper bills--and now digital currencies--lies at the heart some of the world's most difficult problems, but also their potential solutions. When it comes to currency, history shows that the private sector often innovates but eventually the government regulates and appropriates.

At the height of the pandemic, TV star Ben McKenzie (The O.C., Gotham) was the perfect mark for cryptocurrency: a dad stuck at home with some cash in his pocket, worried about his family, armed with only the vague notion that people were making heaps of money on something he-despite a degree in economics-didn't entirely understand. Lured in by the promise of taking power from banks, possibly improving democracy, and sure, a touch of FOMO, McKenzie dove deep into blockchain, Bitcoin, and the various other coins and exchanges on which they are traded. But after scratching the surface, he had to ask, "Am I crazy, or is this all a total scam?" In Easy Money, McKenzie enlists the help of journalist Jacob Silverman for a caper and exposé that points in shock to the climactic final days of cryptocurrency now upon us. Weaving together stories of average traders and victims, colorful crypto "visionaries," Hollywood's biggest true believers, anti-crypto whistleblowers, and government agents searching for solutions at the precipice of a major crash, Easy Money is an on-the-ground look at a perfect storm of 2008 Housing Bubble-level irresponsibility and criminal fraud potentially ten times more devastating than Bernie Madoff.

Recounts the history of consumerism over the past 600 years, including the development of consumer activism, consumer protection, and consumer rights.

Discusses easier and effective options for reorganizing the U.S. system for filing for taxes. Available in print format only.

Author argues that big banks are critical to the success of the American economy.

Analyzes the growing trend of unequal credit resulting from the deregulation of banks in the 1970’s.

An account of crypto delusion, and how Sam Bankman-Fried and a cast of fellow nerds and hustlers turned useless virtual coins into trillions of dollars. In 2021, cryptocurrency went mainstream. Giant investment funds were buying it, celebrities like Tom Brady endorsed it, and TV ads hailed it as the future of money. Hardly anyone knew how it worked--but why bother with the particulars when everyone was making a fortune from Dogecoin, Shiba Inu, or some other bizarrely named "digital asset"? As he observed this frenzy, investigative reporter Zeke Faux had a nagging question: Was it all just a confidence game of epic proportions? Number Go Up is the essential chronicle, by turns harrowing and uproarious, of a $3 trillion financial delusion.

Winner of the Spear's Best Business Book Award, Longlisted for the 2012 Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award Discusses the changes in attitude about debt throughout history and the consequences for the global economy. Discusses the history of monetary booms and busts and describes the consequences of the enormous amounts of repayable debt racked up by the United States for the country and its citizens.

Describes the consequences of high college costs and suggests remedies to make college affordable.

Describes the tension between protecting investors and the need for a regulatory framework that allows for capital formation.

Social Security expansion is back on the agenda, at a time when Americans need it more than ever--here's what it should look like (and why it matters to everyday people all over the country). The COVID-19 crisis has pulled the curtain back on America's looming retirement income crisis, a fraying of the national community, and ever-worsening income inequality. Never before have so many people's livelihoods and futures been thrown into flux. Now more than ever, expanding Social Security is essential to addressing these challenges. Social Security Works for Everyone!, an evolution of the argument Nancy J. Altman and Eric R. Kingson made in their acclaimed first book, Social Security Works!, presents the case for expanding Social Security, explaining why monthly benefits need to be increased; why Americans need national paid family leave, sick leave, and long term care protections; and how we can pay for it all.

Examines the number of Americans leaving the banking system and the alternatives consumers are using.

Probate court proceedings after a death can drag out and cost tens of thousands of dollars in attorney and court fees--money that would otherwise have gone directly to your loved ones. Completely updated, this edition includes the latest state laws on probate avoidance methods, and covers all the estate-related impacts of the recent changes to federal rules on retirement distributions.

Your plain-English guide to administering an estate and/or trust . As more and more of the population reach senior ages, including baby boomers, many of whom do not have wills, an increasing number of people are being thrust into the role of executor, administrator, personal representative of an estate, or trustee of a trust after the death of a loved one. This updated edition of Estate & Trust Administration For Dummies guides you through the confusing process of administering an estate and/or trust. Settling an estate and administering a trust can be complicated, messy, and time-consuming for individuals named as executor or trustee, most of whom have no previous experience with such matters. Estate & Trust Administration For Dummies shows you how to make sound decisions for your unique circumstances. Guides you through the confusing process of administering an estate and/or trust.

Best-selling Nolo author Denis Clifford uses plain English to make these estate planning issues easy to understand, and he lets you know which tasks you can handle yourself and when you'll need a lawyer's help.

The Executor's Guide shows someone who's wrapping up a loved one's estate how to proceed, step by step. It explains what must be done right away and what can wait, guiding readers through a land of unfamiliar legal procedures and terminology. The Executor's Guide contains tables that outline key points of each state's laws, the latest information on estate tax laws, example letters, and helpful worksheets.

Do your loved ones know where to find your insurance policies, passwords, title to your car, real estate deeds, health care directive, or even your will? If you're like a lot of people, you keep important information--from automated bill-pay details to passwords to the location of important documents--in your head or stashed in the odd desk drawer. Unfortunately, this disorganization will cause hassles for those who someday take care of you or your estate. Get It Together is a guide and resource to help you gather your records and prepare important documents.

Estate planning sounds difficult, but most people just need a few basic documents. Let Plan Your Estate show you how to protect your loved ones from legal hassles and financial uncertainty after your death. The 16th edition is completely updated to reflect the latest state and federal laws. Applies in all U.S. states except Louisiana.

You're the trustee. Now what?Living trusts are popular estate planning tools, but when you're chosen to serve as a trustee, you might wonder where to begin. The Trustee's Legal Companion has everything you need to get organized, get started, and get the job done. The authors - attorneys who have helped many a bewildered trustee - show you, step by step, how to administer a living trust with confidence.

A practical look at putting your life together written by the founder of the internationally celebrated website Get Your S**t Together and informed by the author's personal experience after her husband was killed in a biking accident. Part memoir, part hard-working how-to guidebook, What Matters Most inspires readers to get their 'affairs in order' before the unthinkable (or inevitable) happens. Weaving personal story with hard-won wisdom, What Matters Most is the approachable, no-nonsense handbook we all need to living a life free of worry and "what ifs."

What's one thing you know you overspend on, but can't live without? If you were given one million dollars, what would you do with it? Answers to questions like these reveal your greatest interests and priorities in life, and they can do the same for your date! Talking money with your romantic interest or partner can feel taboo and so uncomfortable that most people would rather just leave it a mystery. But the numbers don't lie -- money is one of the leading causes of tension in relationships, decreased intimacy, and even divorce. Walk through all the numbers you can't ignore in a relationship with simple terms and interactive questions, so you can uncover what you want for your finances and if your next date is compatible. You can also deepen trust and intimacy with your partner and even plan for your dream future together.

An easy-to-read guide explaining the world of money, with special emphasis on investing topics.

This guide helps couples tackle money management together.

Provides help for successfully talking about money matters through all of life's transitions-including changes in financial circumstances, remarriage and merging families, retirement, preparing heirs and transferring wealth.

Provides parents with rational decision-making skills that will benefit kids into adulthood.

A practical guidebook with values-based philosophy that explains why talking to your children about money will be beneficial as they become adults.

Strategies for preparing young people to lead financially responsible lives.

Explores how women are maintaining financial stability through the challenging career/parenting years.

Helps active-duty personnel, those transitioning out of the military, and veterans navigate the milestones of family finances.

In this accessible and deeply informed new book, family enterprise expert Emily Griffiths-Hamilton shares the secrets of successful multigenerational family enterprises.

This classic Berenstain Bears story is a perfect way to teach children about the importance of being responsible with money! Come for a visit in Bear Country with this classic First Time Book® from Stan and Jan Berenstain. Mama and Papa are worried that Brother and Sister seem to think money grows on trees. To make money of their own, the cubs decide to start their very own businesses, from a lemonade stand to a pet-walking service. Includes over 50 bonus stickers!

Finders keepers, right? When Ruben picks up someone's lost money, he finds out how hard it can be to do the right thing. Ruben feels like he is the only kid without a bike. His friend Sergio reminds him that his birthday is coming, but Ruben knows that the kinds of birthday gifts he and Sergio receive are not the same. After all, when Ruben's mom sends him to Sonny's corner store for groceries, sometimes she doesn't have enough money for everything on the list. So when Ruben sees a dollar bill fall out of someone's purse, he picks it up and puts it in his pocket. But when he gets home, he discovers it's not one dollar or even five or ten--it's a hundred-dollar bill, more than enough for a new bike just like Sergio's! But what about the crossed-off groceries? And what about the woman who lost her money? Presenting a relatable story told with subtlety and heart, the creative team behind Those Shoes pairs up again for a satisfying picture book.

"Author Bair has serious finance credentials. She is a former chair of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and current chair of Fannie Mae--and, now, an author of whimsical personal finance books for young children."--Booklist A serial spender discovers that there's a difference between wanting something and needing it. Billy the Blue-Footed Booby, who lived on the Galapagos, wanted to buy an umbrella, so he went to Selling Seal. But Billy didn't listen to Seal's explanation of what that umbrella would end up costing him. And then Billy wanted a fan like Arlene the tortoise's, a purple-striped wig like Ig the iguana's, neon-green shoes like Niels the lizard's, and Seal's anchovy grill. All his friends and his twin sister Bess tried to help, but Billy lost everything.

Kass budgets her money carefully and expects her brother Joey to do the same. But Joey spends every dollar he earns. When he realizes he hasn't saved enough money to pay for something he's been dreaming about, Joey must either learn to budget or risk giving up his dream. A Boy, A Budget, and a Dream helps teach financial literacy and money management to children ages 4-8 in a fun and easy way! Grab yours today and encourage the children in your life to start budgeting for their dreams! Featured in Parents Magazine and Yahoo News as the "Best Books to Teach Children about Money!" Follow Jasmine on Instagram @jasminelikepaul or visit www.createfinstew.com for more financial literacy resources.

Curious George saves his money to buy a train he really wants.

Birdie doesn't know much about money. All she knows is that she wants a new soccer ball that costs $24.95. The fastest way to that $24.95 is going into sales, but what to sell? All her belongings? Not much of a market for those. Birdie needs something that she has in abundance and that everyone needs. So when she sees everyone in her neighborhood working on their yards, she realizes she's hit pay dirt. Literally! An industrious tale about striking it rich!

The first time Abuela holds Nina, her heart overflows with tenderness. And as Nina grows up, she and Abuela spend plenty of time together. Abuela can't help thinking how much she'd like to give Nina a very special treat, so she saves a little bit of her money every week -- a few pesos here, a few pesos there. When the world turns upside down, Abuela's dream of a surprise for Nina seems impossible. Luckily, time spent together -- and the love Abuela and Nina have for each other -- could turn out to be the very best gift of all. With a soft and subtle hand, author-illustrator Cecilia Ruiz draws from her own history to share a deeply personal tale about remembering what's most important when life starts to get in the way.

A touching wordless picture book about a little girl, a shiny bicycle, and the meaning of persistence--with an unexpected payoff. A little girl sees a shiny new bicycle in the shop window. She hurries home to see if she has enough money in her piggy bank, but when she comes up short, she knocks on the doors of her neighbors, hoping to do their yard work. They all turn her away except for a kindly old woman. The woman and the girl work through the seasons, side by side. They form a tender friendship. When the weather warms, the girl finally has enough money for the bicycle. She runs back to the store, but the bicycle is gone! What happens next shows the reward of hard work and the true meaning of generosity. Wordless, timeless, and classic, The Girl and the Bicycle carries a message of selflessness and sweet surprises.

Caldecott Honor winner Grace Lin celebrates math for every kid, everywhere! After playing in the snow, Olivia and Mei are ready for cocoa. There's one marshmallow for Olivia and one marshmallow for Mei. But what will they do with the third marshmallow? How can two friends share three things fairly? Storytelling Math celebrates children using math in their daily adventures as they play, build, and discover the world around them. Joyful stories and hands-on activities make it easy for kids and their grown-ups to explore everyday math together. Developed in collaboration with math experts at STEM education nonprofit TERC, under a grant from the Heising-Simons Foundation.

A lemonade stand in winter? Yes, that's exactly what Pauline and John-John intend to have, selling lemonade and limeade--and also lemon-limeade. With a catchy refrain, plus simple math concepts throughout, here is a read-aloud that's great for storytime and classroom use.

Lister and Lester are identical twins who do identical things. But their constant striving to outdo each other means their little brother, Liam, is always left out. When Lester's Lemonade Universe and Lister's Lemonade Multiverse open for business, there's no role for Liam. He does odd jobs around the neighborhood while Lister and Lester's competition spirals into overdrive and their lemonade stands get increasingly, outrageously out of hand. But then Liam takes a stand with his own business venture -- a simple model based on his observations of what not to do -- and gives the twins a run for their money. Illustrated with lively cartoon-style art highlighting the hilarious one-upmanship, this is a spirited underdog story about siblings and strategic thinking.

A fascinating story about the invention of currency. Laos enjoys his life in ancient Turkey. His father and grandfather are blacksmiths, famous for melting gold into beautiful objects. Laos helps by working in his grandfather's market stall, bartering their gold for food and livestock. But exchanging such different goods and quantities is complicated. What they need is something to represent the value of their goods, something durable and lightweight. And so the king comes to Laos's family with a very important task: to create something that will make the market accessible to everyone.

Kai is a worrier with a big imagination. When Kai's money gets swallowed up by an ATM monster, he has to muster up all his courage to try to save his money! The missing money will teach children how to save their money (in a bank, not from a bank)!

Kai is off on another money adventure with his dad and his trusty unicorn by his side. After a trip to the grocery store, Kai learns important lessons about spending money. Paper or Plastic will teach little ones about borrowing responsibly and that life's sweetest surprises are the ones you can afford.

A charming introduction to simple money concepts in which a little bunny learns about the power and satisfaction that come with saving money. Honey earns two carrots a week for taking care of her siblings. Her FIVE siblings who are so loud and bouncy, she wishes she had a place of her own to escape to for some peace and quiet. So what's a bunny to do? Get creative and figure out a savings plan--even if it means forgoing a treat or two. But saving is worth it because with a little patience and perseverance, Honey will be able to make her dream of having her owns space come true!

An old ship. A sad friend. A button . . . An idea. Let's SWAP! In a young scalawag's first tale of bartering, a peg-legged youngster sets out to help his captain repair his vessel. One button for three teacups. SWAP! Two teacups for four coils of rope. SWAP! And so it goes, until the little swashbuckler secures sails, anchors, a ship's wheel, and more . . . including a happy friend. Steve Light's intricate pen-and-ink illustrations, punctuated by brilliant blue and other hues, anchor this clever tale of friendship and ingenuity.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself? Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love.

While Tía Isa wants to save money for a car that will take the whole family to the beach, her niece does odd jobs for neighbors. But it's hard to save enough when half the money is set aside to someday bring family members who live far away to join them. Meg Medina's simple, genuine story about keeping in mind those who are far away is written in lovely, lyrical prose and brought to life through Claudio Muñoz's charming characters.

When Grandma gives you a lemon tree, definitely don't make a face! Care for the tree, and you might be surprised at how new things, and new ideas, bloom. In this imaginative take on that popular saying, a child is surprised (and disappointed) to receive a lemon tree from Grandma for her birthday. After all, she DID ask for a new gadget! But when she follows the narrator's careful--and funny--instructions, she discovers that the tree might be exactly what she wanted after all.

An alphabetical tour through the coolest jobs you can imagine--and some you might never have heard of! With a sophisticated, minimalist design and visual jokes to interpret on every page, Work: An Occupational ABC introduces children both to the alphabet and to a range of alternative careers. The ideal reader for this book is the child (or adult) who is interested in exploring all manner of professions through original and inspired illustrations. Must be open to adventure. Knowledge of the alphabet is desirable but not required, since successful applicants will receive training from A to Z.

When a family has to leave their house and move to a small apartment, it's hard to let go of things--but having one another is what counts. Almost everything Callie's family owns is spread out in their front yard--their furniture, their potted flowers, even Callie's bike. They can't stay in this house, so they're moving to an apartment in the city. The new place is "small but nice," Mom says, and most of their things won't fit, so today they are having a yard sale. But it's kind of hard to watch people buy your stuff, even if you understand why it has to happen. With sensitivity and grace, Eve Bunting and Lauren Castillo portray an event at once familiar and difficult, making clear that a home isn't about what you have, but whom you hold close.

Bella, Emily, Maddie, and Sam decide to create their very own start-up--a lemonade stand! They have been hard at work in their craft studio--so busy in fact, that their supplies are starting to dwindle. It's time to stock up! In order to add a little money to their piggy bank, the friends decide to combine their skills and use the last of their allowance to create their very own business: a lemonade stand! But something's not quite right. While the stand looks fabulous, the lemonade is...not. And where are all their customers? Can these crafty entrepreneurs save their business before it's too late?

Can Kyle sell ten boxes of candy in time to go on his club's camping trip? In this delightful story, readers will learn how to count their money and give the right amount of change.

There's nothing like a cold glass of lemonade on a hot summer day! With that in mind, George decides to set up his own lemonade stand to earn money for a new soccer ball. But George has a lot to learn about running a stand. With help from his friend Betsy, George's stand becomes such a success that there are too many customers and not enough lemonade. Will he figure out how to satisfy all his customers and earn enough money for a new soccer ball? This Green Light Reader based on Curious George, the Emmy Award-winning PBS TV show, also includes bonus activities to help reinforce the concepts presented in the story. 

Join Mercer Mayer's classic and beloved character, Little Critter® as he learns about it what it means to save money. Little Critter works hard for his money! When Little Critter wants a new skateboard, Dad tells him that he needs to save his own money to buy it! He tries his very best, but soon finds that saving enough for what he wants isn't so easy. Just Saving My Money is a My First I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for shared reading with a child.

Madison just got her first dollar and is exploring what to do with it. In this children's book about money, using an interactive writing style that encourages kids to chime in, kids will help Madison manage her dollar by recommending whether she should spend, save, donate or invest it. Should she ask her mommy to take her to the store? Or save her dollar until she gets more? Should she spend a little now and save the rest for later? Or should she donate it all to help out a neighbor? Always remember, whatever Madison decides to do should be fun and responsible too.

This title introduces basic concepts related to exchange and markets, including how communities meet challenges caused by scarcity, and factors that influence pricing. Readers are encouraged to look for examples of the goods and services produced and provided in their local communities.

Discusses money, what it is, and how it's used.

Acting like an Earthling isn't easy! Making money is easy! Jack gets two dollars to sweep the sidewalk, a dollar to take out recycling, five dollars to dust. Soon he'll have enough to buy a special issue of his favorite comic book! Jack has it all under control, unlike Spork, who's crazy for video games. But Jack forgot one thing. Making money may be easy. Keeping it is hard!

When Pedro receives some money from his grandmother for his birthday, he wonders what he should do with it. His friend Katie keeps her money in a piggy bank, and his friend JoJo uses a jar. Pedro would like to make his cash grow into mountains of money! In the end, Pedro finds the perfect thing to do with his money in this early chapter book.

Even though Katie's dad works at a bank, she prefers to keep her money in her piggy bank. But what happens when she drops her piggy and it breaks?

Explains both how and why to save money and introduces young readers to the concept of earning interest. Intended for students in kindergarten through third grade.

Introduces early readers to the fundamentals of handling money and purchasing.

Candy. Trading Cards. A cool t-shirt. What would you spend money on? In this illustrated choose-your-own-ending picture book, Miles must choose between spending his hard-earned money on small items right away and saving up for a more expensive video game that he really wants. Readers make choices for Miles and read what happens next, with each story path leading to different consequences. Includes four different endings and discussion questions.

In What Is Money?, early readers learn the fundamentals of money and the differences between coins, bills, and their worth. A labeled diagram helps aid readers, while a picture glossary reinforces new vocabulary. Children can learn more about money online using our safe search engine that provides relevant, age-appropriate websites.

Encourage financial literacy in kids of all ages with this fun and engaging picture book from bestselling children's author Julia Cook and financial expert Garrett Gunderson! Who better to teach kids about money than MONEY himself? As readers follow along in this delightful, easy-to-understand picture book, they'll learn:  how to earn money how to save money how to spend money (wisely) and the most important thing: how to give it away to help others! Kids will also be introduced to the different forms money can take like cash, cards, and even crypto! Additional fun facts and money tips in the back , make this book a great classroom resource, teaching tool for curious kids, or first finance book for aspiring entrepreneurs!

Explains banks and banking for a juvenile audience.

In this basic introduction to money, readers learn about various economic models throughout history with compelling illustrations and probing questions that explore the real world circumstances surrounding spending, selling, and saving. Big Money aims to explain economic principles in a way that combines the weird and the meaningful, like Planet Money for kids. Organized in seven chapters, each posing a general question and answering it through real-world examples, this book explores the consequences of our everyday economic choices by connecting the dots between young consumers and the larger economic and social systems around them.

Dollars & Sense is a basic operating instruction manual for money that will teach readers about the history of money, the way our American economy works, and how to make important decisions about personal finance. An engaging and approachable guide for kids tackling how to responsibly manage their money. Included are sidebars, time lines, diagrams, a glossary, and further resources, as well as information on related topics such as the Great Recession and sequestration.

Breaking up is hard to do, so why not pay someone to do it for you? Twelve-year-old Quentin never asked to be the Heartbreak Messenger. It just kind of happened, and he can't let a golden opportunity pass him by. The valuable communication service he offers is simple: He delivers breakup messages. For a small fee, he will deliver that message to your soon-to-be ex. If you order the deluxe package, he'll even throw in some flowers and a box of chocolates. You know, to soften the blow. At first, Quentin's entrepreneurial brainchild is surprisingly successful, which is great, because he suspects his mom, who works as a car mechanic, is worried about money. But as he interacts with clients, message recipients, and his best friend, Abigail, it doesn't take long for him to wonder if his own heart will remain intact.

"A snappy course in the evolution of exchange. . . . Thoughtful and entertaining." --Kirkus Reviews What can take the form of a stone with a hole in the middle, a string of shells, a piece of paper, or a plastic card? The answer is money, of course. But when did we start using it? And why? What does money have to do with writing? And how do taxes and interest work? From the Stone Age to modern banking, Martin Jenkins and Satoshi Kitamura take readers on a fascinating tour of the history of money.

Ok Lee is determined to find the perfect get-rich-quick scheme in this funny, uplifting novel. Ok Lee knows it's his responsibility to help pay the bills. With his father gone and his mother working three jobs and still barely making ends meet, there's really no other choice. If only he could win the cash prize at the school talent contest! But he can't sing or dance, and has no magic up his sleeves, so he tries the next best thing: a hair braiding business. It's too bad the girls at school can't pay him much, and he's being befriended against his will by Mickey McDonald, an unusual girl with a larger-than-life personality. Then there's Asa Banks, the most popular boy in their grade, who's got it out for Ok. But when the pushy deacon at their Korean church starts wooing Ok's mom, it's the last straw. Ok has to come up with an exit strategy--fast.

An intro to investing for kids ages 8 to 12. Did you know that the sooner you understand money, the sooner you can make more of it? It's true! Investing for Kids can help make you money savvy, showing you how to earn it, how to start a savings plan, and the best ways to invest and create a future with money in the bank. Covers essential information about stocks and bonds, how you can invest in them, and how they can help you build your wealth. Learn about the concepts of "risk" and "reward" as well as learn how to diversify your portfolio and, ultimately, how to make your money grow.

Katie Bell dreams night and day of being rich. A fateful run-in with a magical wishing well on Grandpa's farm seems to be the answer to all of her problems. Suddenly, she can have everything she has ever wanted. Unfortunately, having all of her wishes granted seems to be taking her further away from happiness, instead of closer. Now she finds herself suspended from school, friendless, out of money, and with a criminal investigation threatening to send her to juvenile detention. Can Grandpa Bell help her see that true wealth is more than having a lot of money and help her change her future with a wealth mentality?

Katie is dreading the boring summer ahead while her best friends are all away at camp--something that's way out of Katie and her mom's budget, UNLESS Katie can figure out a way to earn the money for camp herself. But when Katie gets a job catsitting for her mysterious upstairs neighbor, life get interesting. First, Madeline has 217 cats (!) and they're not exactly...normal cats. Also, why is Madeline always out EXACTLY when the city's most notorious villain commits crimes?! Is it possible that Katie's upstairs neighbor is really a super villain? Can Katie wrangle a whole lot of wayward cats, save a best friendship, AND crack the biggest story in the city's history? Some heroes have capes...Katie has cats!

It's dollars and sense! If the only thing your children know about money is how to spend it, it's time to teach them a different lesson. This revised and updated edition of Jamie Kyle McGillian's thorough financial guide for kids now features the latest information and fresh, fun new illustrations. It explains how to create a budget, make big bucks, invest your earnings, and donate to charity. With advice on understanding the difference between needs and wants, getting the most from an allowance, becoming an entrepreneur, and sharing the wealth, The Kids' Money Guide will make a mogul out of any reader.

This easy-to-read guide is packed with simple definitions, memorable examples, and funny illustrations to make the way we use currency throughout the world something anyone can understand. You will also discover the tools needed to develop good money-management habits. With each turn of the page you'll learn a new basic concept about money, including: Types of money (coins, bills, checks, plastic, bitcoins, exchange rate), Earning (income, earning power, entrepreneur, profit and loss, and crowdfunding), Saving (financial goals, banks, interest, and investing), Spending (expenses, needs vs. wants, taxes, budgets, buying memories, and sharing), and Borrowing (debt and credit).

From the world of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls comes a story based on the life of Madam C.J. Walker, America's first female self-made millionaire. Sarah is the first person in her family who wasn't born into slavery in Delta, Louisiana. But being free doesn't mean that Sarah doesn't have to work. She cooks, she cleans, she picks cotton, she does laundry, and she babysits. And when she works, she wraps up her hair. One day, Sarah's hair starts to fall out! It's itchy, crunchy, patchy, and won't grow. Instead of giving up, Sarah searches for the right products. And then she invents something better than any shampoo or hair oil she's used before. Her hair grows and grows! That's when she decides to rebrand herself as "Madam C. J. Walker," and begins her business empire. Madam C. J. Walker Builds a Business is the story of a leader in the hair care industry, but it's also an inspiring tale about the importance of empowering women to become economically independent. This historical fiction chapter book includes additional text on Madam C. J. Walker's lasting legacy, as well as educational activities designed to encourage entrepreneurship.

How would you spend five million dollars in 30 days? A billionaire's wallet, a bizarre challenge, and an unlikely friendship send two kids on a wild adventure. From the author of The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl. As smart as it is entertaining, Millionaires for the Month is a thought-provoking story about friendship, privilege, and the value of a penny.

Whether you're new to independent living, a recent college graduate or just downshifting to a simpler lifestyle, Poorcraft can help you with everything from finding a home to finding a hobby, dinner to debt relief, education to entertainment. It's time to cut your expenses! Or just make sure they never pile up.

All the great leaders had to start somewhere. And Teresa ("Resa" for short) is starting with the lemonade stand competition her teacher assigned to the class - but making it a success is going to be a lot harder than Resa thinks. The prize: line-skipping tickets to Adventure Central. The competition: Val, Resa's middle school nemesis. And the biggest obstacle to success: Resa's own teammates. Harriet is the class clown, Amelia is the new girl who thinks she knows best, and Didi is Resa's steadfast friend - who doesn't know the first thing about making or selling lemonade. The four of them quickly realize that the recipe for success is tough to perfect, but listening to each other is the first step. And making new friends might be the most important one.

This survival guide introduces the basics of financial literacy and money management for kids, from earning and saving money to spending and donating it, and gives readers essential skills for financial know-how. The book also explores how choices about money and finances connect to character development and social-emotional well-being. Readers will find ideas for setting money goals, delaying gratification, being thrifty, building self-esteem, giving to charity, and making socially responsible spending and donating decisions.

This book won't magically make you a millionaire overnight. But it will give you the tools to understand many finance topics, allowing you to ask smart questions to make even smarter decisions in the near future and over the course of your lifetime.

Monitor your expenses, build a budget, and stick with it. Put yourself on the path to financial success with the valuable lessons learned from Clever Girl Finance.

After "borrowing" her father's credit card to finance a more stylish wardrobe, Margot Sanchez suddenly finds herself grounded. And by grounded, she means working as an indentured servant in her family's struggling grocery store to pay off her debts. With each order of deli meat she slices, Margot can feel her carefully cultivated prep school reputation slipping through her fingers, and she's willing to do anything to get out of this punishment. Lie, cheat, and maybe even steal... Margot's invitation to the ultimate beach party is within reach and she has no intention of letting her family's drama or Moises--the admittedly good looking but outspoken boy from the neighborhood--keep her from her goal.

Balance your budget, plan for your future, and breeze through confusing details with this easy-to-follow illustrated personal finance guide. Get your finances in shape! In The Infographic Guide to Personal Finance, you will learn all the skills you need to make good financial decisions and grow your personal wealth. Full of colorful descriptions organized in an easy-to-read format. With the help of this guide, you'll learn how to make good investments, save for big things like a house or college tuition, budget, and more!

There's no getting around it. You need to know how to manage money to know how to manage life -- but most of us don't! This full-color, illustrated guidebook from New York Times bestselling author and financial expert Jean Chatzky, Kathryn Tuggle, and their team at HerMoney breaks down the basics of money--how to earn it, manage it, and use it--giving you all the tools you need to take charge and be fearless with personal finance. Featuring exclusive interviews with CEOs, activists, and many more, How to Money will teach you the ins and outs of: -creating a budget (and sticking to it) -scoring that first job (and what that paycheck means) -navigating college loans (and avoiding student debt) -getting that first credit card (and what "credit" is) -investing like a pro (and why it's important!) All so you can earn more, save smart, invest wisely, borrow only when you have to, and enjoy everything you've got!

This book is specifically for young adults, shows you that personal finance does not take a lot of time, allows you to live similar as you do today and have more money, has a ton of real world examples, and provides you with options to choose from, leaving you in complete control.

Barron's updated and expanded Dictionary of Banking Terms is an A-Z reference for banking, business, and finance professionals and students. This pocket guide features more than 3,000 terms with definitions and explanations.

With over 5,500 this sixth edition of the bestselling Dictionary of Finance and Banking has been fully revised and updated to take into account the ever-developing financial landscape of the last five years. This comprehensive A-Z defines terms from all aspects of personal and international finance, including money markets, private investments and borrowing, central banking, foreign exchanges, monetary policy, and public and government finance. Now with expanded international coverage to reflect the on-going globalization of financial markets and the growing importance of development finance, with new entries such as village banking, Islamic Development Bank, and M-Pesa.

Presents data on personal income, employment, and gross domestic product for the United States as a whole, and by region, state, and metropolitan statistical area (MSA). Data on personal income and employment extends back to 1960 for the states and regions and to 1970 for the MSAs.

Provides easy and concise definitions for 4,500 key terms on life, health, property, casualty, home owners’, tenants’, and professional liability insurance.

More than 5,000 terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, tax laws, and transactions in the various financial markets are presented alphabetically with descriptions. The new tenth edition has been updated to take account of new financial regulations and recent dramatic swings in equities, credit, and other financial developments, including the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017. Readers will also find a list of financial abbreviations and acronyms, as well as illustrative diagrams and charts.

Published annually since 1878, this is the best-known reference book on statistics in the United States.

A concise, step-by-step guided approach to college financial aid that will help you pay less for your education.

Completely revised with updated descriptions, contact information, websites, and available monies, this guide to financing higher education is the only resource students need to fund their pursuit of knowledge. Balancing detailed explanations with real-life examples and practical resources, the featured topics include finding and winning scholarships, requesting a reassessment from colleges for more financial aid, maximizing assistance from state and federal governments, taking advantage of educational tax breaks, and benefiting from government-subsidized student loans.

The Cost of College discusses the types of education people can pursue after high school, explores tuition costs for both public and private schools, and explains how to search for financial aid, scholarships, and grants.

Examines the risks, benefits, and costs of attending a for-profit college.

This book breaks down the expenses associated with higher education, the various payment options available for students, including student loans, need-based scholarships, and merit-based scholarships, and what other avenues may exist for families to ensure that costs associated with tuition, room, and board stay reasonable.

529 & Education Savings Plans For Dummies helps you sort through the vast amount of information about education savings accounts and choose the plans that are best for you and your family. A college or private K-12 education is generally parents' single largest expense for their children. 529 plans and 530 plans (Coverdell accounts) are relatively solid investment vehicles that can make saving for college much easier, providing tax advantages that other types of investments can't match. Education savings can be part of your overall wealth accumulation strategy, and this book can show you which plans are right for you, help you decide when to start saving, and guide you through determining how much to save per year in order to meet your goals--and help your kids meet theirs.

Today's workers have more opportunities and mobility than any generation before. They also face unprecedented challenges, including inflation, labor and housing shortages, and climate volatility. Even the notion of retirement is undergoing a profound rethink, as our lifespans extend and our relationship with work evolves. In this environment, the tried-and-true financial advice our parents followed is no longer enough. It's time for a new playbook. You'll learn: how to find and follow your talent, not your passion, when making career decisions; how to ride and optimize big economic waves; what small steps you can take that pay big returns later, including diversification and tax planning; and how stoicism can help you minimize spending and develop better financial habits.

Taking control of your financial freedom is simpler than you think. In fact, your money should work harder than you do. Brian Preston, Host of The Money Guy Show podcast and Cofounder of Abound Wealth Management, lays out a nine-step system for building wealth with the money you already have. Millionaire Mission helps you account for your financial blind spots, overcome the fear of making wrong decisions, and take the guesswork out of what to do with your next dollar. Remember "PEMDAS" from grade school? The acronym that helps break down complex math problems into simple steps? When it comes to managing your money, following a similar process--the Financial Order of Operations--will demystify your dollars and show you the way to build transformative wealth with the tools you already have available. Discover what small financial decisions you can make today to move you closer to your more beautiful tomorrow.

Guidance for those in their 20s and 30s who are dealing with tight budgets, debt, and the challenges of financial communications and relationships.

An indispensable guide for any recent graduate that provides simple, easy-to-follow rules for making smart personal finance choices during the first decade of one's career.

A completely revised and updated fourth edition of the New York Times bestseller, designed to guide younger adults through the world of personal finance. More than ever before, people in their twenties and thirties need help getting their financial lives in order.

Offers personal finance tips and strategies that can fit on an index card.

The popular host of the Money Moves podcast and youngest person ever to trade on the New York Stock Exchange provides winning tips for women to help them shift their financial mindset, become confident about their money, set them on a path to financial security, and live their best lives.

A relatable, easy-to-read, sequential, and comprehensive approach to paying off debt, building an automated savings system, buying life's early-stage big purchases, and teaching readers how to live the true millionaire lifestyle, which doesn't mean spending money as soon as you have it.

Your golden years will present unique financial opportunities and challenges. This hands-on, practical guide empowers you to chart your financial course with targeted advice for investing, spending, and protecting your wealth for the decades to come.

Take stock of your financial situation, from budgeting, saving, and reducing debt, to making timely investment choices and planning for the future. This new edition includes coverage of an extensive new tax bill that took effect in 2018 and the impact on individuals, families, small businesses, and on real estate and investing decisions.

Describes goal-oriented financial planning and what consumers should look for in financial planning.

Consumer tips and strategies for saving money.

Perspectives on why consumers should think critically about personal finance products and the personal finance industry.

When Vivian Tu started working on Wall Street fresh from undergrad, all she knew was that she was making more money than she had ever seen in her life. But it wasn't until she found a mentor of her own on the trading floor that she began to understand what wealthy people knew intuitively--the secrets to beating the proverbial financial game that has, for too long, been male, pale, and stale. Building on the lessons she learned on Wall Street about money and the markets, Vivian now offers her best personal finance tips and tricks to readers of all ages and demographics, so that anyone can get rich, whether you grew up knowing the rules to the game or not.

The Secrets of Successful Financial Planning empowers readers to take charge of their financial present and future, regardless of where they are financially, by presenting technical jargon in a way that's easy to understand.

A straightforward method for organizing one’s financial life and managing money.

A plan to pay down debt, build emergency savings, and save and invest for retirement and college expenses.

As a wife, mother of three and first-generation Jamaican immigrant, Jamila knows all too well the struggles of saving for tomorrow while spending liberally today. The popular podcaster offers advice on reducing debt and achieving financial independence.

Discusses the behaviors and mistakes that undermine investor returns.

A plain-language guide to help beginners build an investment portfolio.

In the Ninth Edition of Investing for Dummies, best-selling author and nationally renowned personal finance expert Eric Tyson shows you how to make your money work for you with rock-solid advice that's stood the test of time. Steering clear of flashy get-rich-quick schemes, Tyson offers a slow-and-steady approach that can work for everyone from young professionals just starting their careers to baby boomers who want to bulk up their nest eggs just before retirement.

Examines asset-price bubbles in the stock, bond, and real estate markets.

The best-selling index investing "bible" offers new information and is updated to reflect the latest market data. The Little Book of Common Sense Investing is the classic guide to getting smart about the market.

Drawing on his experience as an economist, financial adviser, and successful investor, Malkiel shows why an individual who saves consistently over time and buys a diversified set of index funds can achieve above-average investment results. He addresses current investment fads and critically analyzes cryptocurrencies, NFTs, and meme stocks. Malkiel reveals how to be a tax-smart investor and how to make sense of recently popular investment management techniques, including factor investing, risk parity, and ESG portfolios.

Explores the differences between gambling and speculation throughout American history, and discusses related legal, regulatory, and economic challenges.

In the face of an environmental or man-made disaster, it's imperative to have a contingency plan that's mapped out your corporation's strategy to minimize the impact on the daily functions or life of the corporation.

Efficient emergency management programs can provide great relief to the affected community. Identifying risks and areas of vulnerability and applying new technology for better design and preparedness is a way to minimize damages.

Reflects recent changes in the housing market and emphasizes the importance of researching home values and discussing financing expectations.

Learn all the ins and outs of buying a home and give yourself an advantage in the real estate game with this essential house-buying guidebook. Full of nuts-and-bolts advice and organized in an easy-to-read format, this book will teach you all the basics of: Deciding the right time to buy, Getting your finances in order, Choosing a realtor--or going solo, Assessing neighborhood/comps, Deciphering the MLS/reading the listings for clues, Buyers' vs. sellers' markets, Types of mortgage loans, Property insurance, and Making a smart offer.

This guide is rooted in a profound idea: retirement planning doesn't need to be intricate or time-consuming. Designed for the modern individual, from bustling young professionals to those on the brink of their retirement years, this book delivers a promise: efficacy in brevity. Leveraging expert advice, actionable insights, and digestible wisdom, The Four-Minute Retirement Plan paves a direct path for those eager to embark on a retirement journey that is both prosperous and purposeful. Whether you're just starting out in your career or closer to the end, this guide can be a trusty compass that helps you get ahead and stay on track.

A practical plan for the millions of people in their fifties and sixties who find themselves out of work, unable to find a job, and financially incapable of retiring. You're in your fifties and sixties, and may have saved nothing or not nearly enough to retire. It's too late for blame or shame--and it wouldn't help anyway. What you want to know is what you can do now to have a shot at a decent retirement.

Guidance to help individuals ages 50 and over reach their retirement income goals.

Money management suggestions for retirees.

Whether you have an IRA, Roth IRA, 401(k), Keogh or other retirement plan, this book will help you make sense of the rules for taking your money out. Even more important, it will show you how to avoid the stiff taxes and penalties that lurk in the fine print. It covers: tax strategies before and after retirement required distributions and how much you need to take penalties for taking money out early and how to avoid them how to divide a plan at divorce what happens to your retirement plan after your death, and different rules for taking money out of an inherited plan.

Finding long-term care often means making difficult decisions. But the more you know about long-term care, the better off you or your loved one will be. Whether you're planning well into the future or making an urgent decision now, Long-Term Care helps you understand the full range of your options.

Provides insight and tips for how to get the most out of your Medicare plan.

In Rescuing Retirement, Teresa Ghilarducci and Tony James offer a comprehensive yet simple plan to help workers save for retirement, increase retirement savings by earning higher returns, and guarantee lifelong income for everyone. It offers a practical guide to the future of secure retirement.

Explains the role of reverse mortgages as a potential option for retirement security.

American Baby boomers are aging and fifteen million of them never had children. Explores the path ahead for Solo Agers.

Provides an overview to the complexities of Social Security and government pensions. Offers tips for maximizing benefit options.

Describes how members of the Baby Boomer generation are extending their working lives and the implications this has for American society and the economy.

Investment and personal finance experts Larry Swedroe and Kevin Grogan present uniquely comprehensive coverage of every important aspect you need to think about as you approach retirement, including: Social Security, Medicare, investment planning strategy, portfolio maintenance, preparing your heirs, retirement issues faced by women, the threat of elder financial abuse, going beyond financials to think about your happiness, and much more.

Architects, lawyers, dentists, chiropractors, doctors, and other licensed professionals are subject to special tax rules. With this book, learn how to pay less to the IRS at tax time by taking advantage of the many tax deductions available to professionals.

The tax professional's favorite quick reference - meticulously researched to cover today's federal tax laws. The 106th edition reflects all pertinent changes that affect 2022 returns and provides fast and reliable answers to tax questions for income taxes of individuals and businesses.

Deduct It! shows you how to maximize your business deductions--quickly, easily, and legally. Whether your business is just starting or well established, this book is indispensable to your financial success.