Financial Literacy in Public Libraries: A Guide for Building Collections: Websites

Information from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau about banking in the US.

A commercial site that provides tools and information to compare banking and credit products.

Consumer protection resources from the federal agency that insures bank accounts.

The Federal Reserve is the central bank of the United States. Access information about banking policy and regulations, as well as banking data and research.

From the U.S. Treasury Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, this website answers various questions about bank products and services.

The National Credit Union Administration’s consumer education portal.

An independent bureau of the U.S. Department of the Treasury, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency regulates and supervises all national banks and federal savings associations. This website offers information on topics such as bank management, bank operations, and consumer protection.

Guides, Q&A, and resources for many topics related to consumer credit and debt.

A step by step video and Q&A for checking a credit report from the Federal Trade Commission.

Explore several credit card calculators, including payoff and optimization, from 360 degrees of financial literacy.

A state-by-state listing of agencies approved by the U.S. Justice Department for credit counseling and debt education.

Federal loan information from the U.S. Government.

An overview from FINRA of the importance of good credit.

A virtual worksheet to help manage monthly living expenses.

Information and resources on student loan payment options from Equal Justice Works, a nonprofit dedicated to justice and equality for all citizens.

Resources to help service members manage their finances from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Information from the U.S. Department of Transportation about filing civil rights and consumer complaints against airlines.

A resource for finding businesses that uphold best practices and standards for customer service and or quality.

Instructions for submitting a complaint to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau about an array of financial products and services.

A resource from the U.S. Administration on Aging that helps families looking for eldercare assistance across the United States.

A federal agency offering guidance to prevent financial and other forms of senior abuse.

Starting point for consumer information and assistance regarding identity theft and other financial scams from the Federal Trade Commission.

The Federal Trade Commission's website for reporting identity theft and starting a recovery plan.

A site for reporting cyber crime, including fraud and scams, to the FBI.

FINRA’s tools and guidance to help recognize and avoid financial fraud and scams.

An FBI site to help consumers avoid victimization.

A convenient list of state-level consumer protection offices.

Taxpayer options when identity theft affects a tax return.

An overview on estate planning from the American Bar Association.

American Bar Association’s glossary of terms on estate planning.

A basic overview of estate planning. Includes checklists for organizing an estate plan, as well as a section describing the benefits of estate planning and what happens if there is no estate plan in place at the time of death.

Consumer information on funeral planning from the Federal Trade Commission.

Managing Someone Else's Money guides from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau for those named in a power of attorney to make decisions about money and property for someone else.

Educational materials and games for different age groups to develop financial literacy.

NFL-themed game created to teach money decisions to children. Co-sponsored by Visa.

Collection of financial education activities and lessons for different age groups.

Activities and conversation starters from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau to help children develop money skills, habits, and attitudes that will serve them well in the transition to adulthood.

A financial literacy curriculum for different age groups from FDIC.

Standards for what young people should know and can do when it comes to money management. Compiled by the Jump$tart Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy.

A curriculum and activities to teach young adults about saving, investing, and the basics of money management.

Shake, Shake, Shake...Shake Your Piggy Bank!
Children's rock bank and Columbia's Own Lunch Money is helping the library Grow Savers of all ages. The original song was written as a part of Growing Savers: Smart Money @ RCPL, a $78,500 grant effort to increase the financial literacy of low to moderate income families with a special focus on the African-American community. The grant is part of more than $1.2 million awarded to 16 recipients by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) Investor Education Foundation and the American Library Association (ALA) through smart investing @your library.

Information for educators and parents to teach the importance of Social Security to children.

Fun money games that quiz children on saving and spending money.

A video series of financial literacy and entrepreneurship lessons featuring an animated Warren Buffett.

An overview of vocational schools from the Federal Trade Commission.

The CATC was designed by the U.S. Department of Education to meet requirements in the Higher Education Opportunity Act and to provide better information to student and parent consumers about college costs. It serves as a central point to several tools that allow users to compare colleges tuition and fees, net price, and other characteristics.

An affiliate of the National Association of State Treasurers that serves as an information clearinghouse for state-administered college savings programs.

Information and tools from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs about education and training benefits available to veterans.

Detailed information about federal student aid—from getting ready to apply to repaying student loans.

A site sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor to search for scholarship opportunities.

Tools from the US Department of Education. The Loan Simulator helps you estimate monthly student loan payments and choose a loan repayment option that best meets your needs and goals. You can also use it to decide whether to consolidate your student loans.

Information compiled by FINRA for choosing college savings plans.

Gives savings tips, strategies, and resources to help build personal wealth.

An FAQ database from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau with resources to answer personal finance topics.

A financial education resource from the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas offering guidance to individuals and families who wish to increase their personal wealth.

A guide to terms about economics, personal finance, and money from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Resources and tools from 20 federal government agencies organized per the “MyMoney Five”: earn; borrow; save and invest; spend; protect.

Personal finance resources from the FINRA Foundation for military service members and their families.

Contact information for each state treasurer’s office. Access information about savings plans, unclaimed money databases, and more state-based programs.

National Flood Insurance Program information from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Starting point for federal health insurance options.

Health Insurance information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

An overview of a basic home owner’s insurance policy.

A link map leading to each state’s insurance commissioner.

Commonly asked question on low-cost health insurance for children.

Government health insurance option for low-income individuals.

The federal health insurance option for those 65 or older.

A database maintained by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission dedicated to answering investor questions.

A tool to research the background and experience of financial brokers, advisers, and firms.

Step-by-step guide to make a formal complaint regarding a broker or a broker transaction.

Comprehensive information, tools, calculators, and alerts for individual investors from FINRA.

FINRA Data Center provides access to market and investment research. Access to some data may require making a free account.

FINRA tool for estimating and comparing the fees and expenses for mutual funds, exchange traded funds, and exchange traded notes.

Comprehensive information from FINRA about investing for retirement through several account options.

Glossary of investment topics and terms.

U.S. Securities Exchange and Commission’s resources to help individuals understand, research, and protect their investments.

The Khan Academy’s self-paced courses on investing and other personal finance topics.

Authoritative information from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development for homeowners facing foreclosure.

Easy access to information about federal and state benefit and assistance programs.

Guidance from the Federal Trade Commission on debt relief options.

Resources from Fannie Mae to help consumers manage financial uncertainty or recover from disaster related to housing.

A list of resources and services for job seekers or those who have been affected by unemployment.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development information geared to help renters.

Eligibility and application information for those seeking food stamps or other public assistance, such as SNAP and WIC.

An overview of bankruptcy, steps in the bankruptcy process, and information about federal bankruptcy laws.

Authoritative information from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development for homeowners facing foreclosure.

A step-by-step guide from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Resources from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau for all steps of the homebuying process, leading up to closing on your house.

A calculator to help determine the maximum-price home you can afford based on your financial circumstances and preferred location.

An overview of federal programs to help members of specific groups purchase homes through specialized mortgages.

Freddie Mac’s resources to help consumers rent, buy, or maintain a home.

A tool that lists available rentals in your preferred location that fit your monthly budget.

A service from the National Council on Aging to help seniors find benefit programs. Includes straightforward descriptions of the types of benefits available to older Americans.

Long-term healthcare resources from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

A FINRA website dedicated to managing retirement income sources, tax issues, selecting payout methods, working in retirement, and managing health care costs.

IRS guidance on saving for retirement.

A retirement savings education campaign sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes practical information for employees and employers.

Social Security provides retirement income for almost every American worker. Learn more about services and benefits and get help from the Social Security Administration.

The IRS mission is to provide America's taxpayers top quality service by helping them understand and meet their tax responsibilities and to enforce the law with integrity and fairness to all. Learn about laws, payment options, and get help.

A nonprofit organization that provides research and resources on taxes and taxpayers in the United States.

A collaboration between the Brookings Institution and the Urban Institute, the Tax Policy Center provides analysis and data on tax policies in the United States.