Financial Literacy in Public Libraries: A Guide for Building Collections: Databases

A free database of corporate filings maintained by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) is a database maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. It comprises regional and national financial and economic data. These datasets can be downloaded in various formats.

Detailed data about American investors compiled for the investor sample of the FINRA Foundation's National Financial Capability Study.

Detailed and extensive data maintained by the FINRA Foundation on the financial capability of Americans ages 18 and over. Data are available for each state and for the nation.

Data series on the world distribution of income and wealth.

Database of full-text articles on business and economics topics. This database requires a subscription. Contact ProQuest for subscription information.

Provides current and historical information about equities, currencies, commodities, and futures. This database requires a subscription. Contact Bloomberg for more information.

Database of articles from a variety of magazines and scholarly journals. This database requires a subscription. Contact EBSCO for subscription information.

Factiva is a database that offers full text articles on several topics, but has a focus on the business sector. This database requires a subscription. Contact Dow Jones for subscription information.

A database with information on more than 40,000 public and private companies. This database requires a subscription. Contact ProQuest for more information.

Provides access to data on investment options, such as stocks, mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. This database requires a subscription. Contact Morningstar for subscription information.

A comprehensive business reference tool. This database requires a subscription. Contact Data Axel for subscription information.

A database featuring credit research on bond issues from around the world, including information on public finance and structured finance issues. This database requires a subscription. Contact S&P for subscription information.

An investor tool for researching stocks, mutual funds, options, and other securities. This database requires a subscription. Contact Value Line for subscription information.