Financial Literacy in Public Libraries: A Guide for Building Collections: Professional Development
This guide was created by the ALA Office of Research & Evaluation, and funded by the FINRA Investor Education Foundation. [New books added 6/21/24]
Professional Development Materials on Personal Finance
Professional Development
Use the links below to jump to each section.
Financial Literacy Best Practices and Standards
- Financial Literacy Education in LibrariesGuidelines and standards established by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA). The Guidelines were most recently updated in 2022.
- K–12 Financial Education StandardsCompiled by the Jump$tart Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy.
Collection Development and Management for Financial Literacy and Business Topics
- Smart investing@your library® Collection ManagementLibrary tools and templates for managing a personal finance collection.
The Basic Business Library by ISBN: 9781598846119Publication Date: 2012A starting point for creating a business collection in the library. Includes resources on maintaining the collection once it has been established.
- Thinking Money for All Kids: Diverse and Inclusive Reads to Teach Young People about Money. A Book List for LibrariesBooks in this guide help young people explore personal values about money, treat people from all socioeconomic backgrounds with dignity and respect, and address the foundational concepts that comprise financial capability (defined as having the knowledge, skills, and opportunities to earn, save, spend, invest, and share money effectively). Equally important, the books are up-to-date (the guide focuses intently on recent titles) and a pleasure to experience.
The guide also shares tips and resources that the librarians have collected through research and their own experiences.
Financial Literacy and Business Continuing Education for Librarians
Websites
- BRASS Business Guide — BankingBanking resources compiled by ALA’s Business Reference and Services Section.
- BRASS Business Guide — Company and Industry ResearchCompany and Industry resources compiled by ALA’s Business Reference and Services Section.
- BRASS Business Guide — Finance and InvestmentsFinance and investment resources compiled by ALA’s Business Reference and Services section.
- BRASS Business Guide — Real EstateReal estate resources compiled by ALA’s Business Reference and Services Section.
- Personal Finance Training for LibrariansPersonal finance training resources for librarians from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.
- Money Matters ProMoney Matters is a series of workshops and modules designed to help New York Public Library staff, other libraries, and not-for-profit organizations learn vital personal finance topics and terminology.
- Smart investing@your library® Staff TrainingALA and the FINRA Foundation provide a suite of library staff training resources on a full range of financial literacy topics. This includes a series of self-paced online courses structured around reference scenarios on topics ranging from basic money management to investing to estate planning.
Books
Financial Literacy for Children and Youth, Second Edition [NEW] by ISBN: 9781433133619Publication Date: 2018-05-31The book is designed for both preservice and in service social studies teachers and is written at a level understandable to both undergraduate and graduate students. The book challenges the teacher or teacher-to-be to think critically about financial literacy instruction as a necessary and important portal to social justice for the students of today.
The Library's Role in Supporting Financial Literacy for Patrons by ISBN: 9781442265912Publication Date: 2016-05-20A collection of articles from librarians and others in the U.S. and Canada describing opportunities and best practices for assisting library patrons with their personal finance information needs.
The ALA Guide to Information Sources in Insurance, Risk Management, and Actuarial Science by ISBN: 9780838912751Publication Date: 2015-10-01Provides guidance on finding and using information about the insurance industry.
Guide to Reference in Business and Economics by ISBN: 9780838912348Publication Date: 2014-01-01Focuses on business and economics reference resources for use at the reference desk.
Financial Terminology Glossaries
RUSA Financial Literacy Interest Group
The RUSA Financial Literacy Interest Group brings together librarians from all kinds of libraries who work to increase financial literacy among the populations they serve. FLIG sponsors programs at ALA conferences and via webinars on topics of interest to library professionals who provide financial literacy education at their libraries. ALA Members can join FLIG through ALA Connect. Those are who are not affiliated with ALA can join a free email list to receive updates about FLIG programs and opportunities from vetted groups that provide free financial literacy resources for libraries, such as the FINRA Foundation and the CFPB.
- Join RUSA FLIGJoin the community in ALA Connect or join our free email list. Emails are sent a maximum of two times per month.
Recorded FLIG webinars
- Understanding Cryptocurrency and Other Digital AssetsPresentation by Dan Rutherford of the federal agency the Commodity Futures Trading Commission on crypto and common related scams.
- Managing Someone Else's MoneyA webinar featuring the CFPB and public librarians who share resources and ideas for supporting patrons who help manage an older loved one's finances.
- All Hands On Deck: A Team Approach to Financial LiteracyAcademic librarians explain how they collaborate to provide financial literacy programming and resources to students.
- Beyond BudgetingA public librarian shares ideas for financial literacy programming that goes beyond basic budgeting workshops.
- Little Library, Big ImpactSmall and rural libraries describe how they connect with their communities to support financial literacy.